problem with QHY174 GPS

pinx74
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 3:16 pm

problem with QHY174 GPS

Post by pinx74 » Thu Jul 12, 2018 3:26 pm

Hello everyone !

I have a problem with my new camera QHY174GPS and sharpcap.

I am outside, and I can never get the status "locked" of my GPS

I am always with "badtimestamps".

I am nevertheless in 8bits images. What is going on ?

then I have another problem,
at some point the image freezes, and the only way to raise is either:
- to close the camera and restart it
- to change the picture format.

==> if it happens during an aquisition, the video is lost ...

Thank you for your help.

I have the latest version of Sharpcap, as well as the latest QHY drivers



thanks for yout help

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2079
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: problem with QHY174 GPS

Post by admin » Thu Jul 12, 2018 6:07 pm

Hi,

what data shows in the GPS window? - BadTimestamp is usually caused when the GPS says it has data, but the time in the data is more than 24 hours different from the PC system clock. As you know, you must be in 8 bit mode for the GPS to work at all.

Robin

pinx74
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 3:16 pm

Re: problem with QHY174 GPS

Post by pinx74 » Fri Jul 13, 2018 7:49 am

hi robin,
this is a picture on my GPS:

Image


i am in 8 bits.

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2079
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: problem with QHY174 GPS

Post by admin » Fri Jul 13, 2018 8:12 am

Try without binning - I have no idea if it works with binning and have never tested it.

Robin

pinx74
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 3:16 pm

Re: problem with QHY174 GPS

Post by pinx74 » Fri Jul 13, 2018 9:36 am

I just tried, but it's not better without binning.


:?

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2079
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: problem with QHY174 GPS

Post by admin » Fri Jul 13, 2018 6:58 pm

Hi,

so if I run the camera without plugging in the GPS module I see exactly what you are seeing (ie stays on BadTimestamp all the time). If I plug in the GPS module while the camera is running then it moves to 'PartialData' within about 20 seconds (this means it has the time - at least roughly, but no location) and then to 'Locked' in another minute or two.

I wonder if you might have a hardware issue with the GPS module? I have setup my camera settings to be the same as yours shown above and the GPS works fine. I believe that QHY have a test application that can read the GPS data from the camera (that's pretty much all it does). Maybe worth contacting them to get a copy of that and if that fails to read the data too then it would point to a possible hardware problem.

cheers,

Robin

pinx74
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 3:16 pm

Re: problem with QHY174 GPS

Post by pinx74 » Fri Jul 13, 2018 9:26 pm

hi,


thank you for this answer I will investigate this side.

thank you

SteveInNZ
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 6:56 pm

Re: problem with QHY174 GPS

Post by SteveInNZ » Sat Jul 14, 2018 8:16 am

I was going to ask if you'd connected the antenna as that would be the response if you hadn't.
Then I remembered that the antenna module that came with my camera wasn't very reliable. I already had another one which I swapped in and it hasn't missed a beat since then.

Steve.

pinx74
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 3:16 pm

Re: problem with QHY174 GPS

Post by pinx74 » Thu Aug 09, 2018 2:04 pm

ok, I'll see with QHY to see if it's possible to get another one.


as for my other problem I still have no solution either.
(maybe it's the GPS that also blocks the camera?)
at any time, no matter how many frames per second, the image freezes, and the bitrate drops to 0. and the timestamp freezes with the image
until now I had to deconect the camera to be able to relaunch it.
I just realized that if I change the format of the 640 * 480 image or whatever, it would restart it normally ... until it crashed again.

what can it come from? camera? GPS? Sharpcap bug?


Thank you for your help.

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2079
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: problem with QHY174 GPS

Post by admin » Thu Aug 09, 2018 6:15 pm

Hi,

the problem you are seeing with the camera freezing could be down to

a) the USB speed setting being too low

b) incompatibility between the camera and the USB3 port/chipset it is connected to.

I have two separate USB3 chipsets on my PC, one is on an addon card, one on the motherboard. My QHY174 GPS works fine with the one on the motherboard but shows the same symptoms of random freezes and needing to be replugged with the one on the addon card.

cheers,

Robin

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest