Settings for DSO imaging intervalometer

Somewhere to ask questions about the best way to use SharpCap
Post Reply
Fivelpolar
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 10:53 pm

Settings for DSO imaging intervalometer

Post by Fivelpolar » Thu Jun 14, 2018 3:00 pm

Hello and thanks to the developers for a super program.
Forgive me if this has been answered before, but I couldn't find it posted.
I am getting great planetary videos, but need help with multiple long exposures for DSO imaging.
To use this program as an intervalometer, what settings for capture should I use?
Needed:
1. Long exposure times for each image capture (exposure or light frame)
2. lag in between each capture
3. Set the number of captures
Please advise, and thanks again. This program adds great enjoyment to the hobby.

Fivel

User avatar
oopfan
Posts: 238
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 2:37 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Settings for DSO imaging intervalometer

Post by oopfan » Thu Jun 14, 2018 3:14 pm

Please see attachment

Brian
Attachments
Settings for DSO imaging intervalometer.jpg
Settings for DSO imaging intervalometer.jpg (61.26 KiB) Viewed 134 times

User avatar
turfpit
Posts: 248
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Settings for DSO imaging intervalometer

Post by turfpit » Thu Jun 14, 2018 3:46 pm


Fivelpolar
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 10:53 pm

Re: Settings for DSO imaging intervalometer

Post by Fivelpolar » Sat Jun 16, 2018 3:30 am

Brian and Dave, thanks for your replies.
Unfortunately the two methods you show are quite different and still don't simplify what steps I need to set up.
For example, when imaging DSOs I might use 2 to 3 minute subs (exposures), up to 30 each, with 5 second pauses (lags) in between the subs.
So, Brian what you show greys out two of the setting I would need,in the same window.
The right window only has "Number of Frames" but no Time Limit, Sequence Length or Interval. The Left screen shows Frame Rate and Exposure. Even with the settings there the Interval is nit available.
Dave, the info and settings are not grouped in a useful, logical screen. In that Configure Capture Screen, I could set the number of Frames (i.e. 30 frames-subs), the interval between the frames and then what does the Sequence Length do vice the Number of Frames?
Maybe a simpler window should be programmed, with all options available, and the user can set whatever ones needed and the amounts for each category. Further divide it into two sections, one for videos and one for frames (subs).That would closer emulate a true intervalometer.
One can only hope for a simpler approach.

Fivel

User avatar
turfpit
Posts: 248
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Settings for DSO imaging intervalometer

Post by turfpit » Sat Jun 16, 2018 11:16 am

Fivel

Directly from https://docs.sharpcap.co.uk/2.9/#!2!Start%20Capture, the link in my previous post.

The example shown is directly from the manual - how to take 3 captures at 10 second intervals.

capture-limit.PNG
capture-limit.PNG (10.15 KiB) Viewed 93 times
3-captures-at-10-second-intervals.PNG
3-captures-at-10-second-intervals.PNG (29 KiB) Viewed 93 times


I ran through this in SharpCap, to test that the instructions were correct.

Select Color Space and Capture Format
1.PNG
1.PNG (5.21 KiB) Viewed 93 times

Set Exposure
2.PNG
2.PNG (3.23 KiB) Viewed 93 times

Capture > Start capture
3.PNG
3.PNG (9.19 KiB) Viewed 93 times

A message appears in the Notification bar and a progress bar appears at the bottom right of the window
4.PNG
4.PNG (6.68 KiB) Viewed 93 times

Progress messages are displayed in the Notification bar
5a.PNG
5a.PNG (18.31 KiB) Viewed 93 times
5b.PNG
5b.PNG (13.26 KiB) Viewed 93 times

A completion message is displayed in the Notification bar
6.PNG
6.PNG (25.76 KiB) Viewed 93 times

The Capture folder (3 files created per image, was 2 in SC 2.9, I must amend this when I write the 3.1 manual)
7.PNG
7.PNG (84.67 KiB) Viewed 93 times

Camera Settings
Capture_00001.CameraSettings.txt
(626 Bytes) Downloaded 1 time
I might use 2 to 3 minute subs (exposures), up to 30 each, with 5 second pauses
The above example should be enough to deliver your requirement.
the info and settings are not grouped in a useful, logical screen
One to take up with the developer but the provided single screen works for me. Your suggestion creates clutter and increases complexity IMHO.
That would closer emulate a true intervalometer
Perhaps it could be called SharpIntervalometer? ;)
One can only hope for a simpler approach
(This) one can only hope for some rtfm.

Dave

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests