Settings Filename Tab Issue

A place to report problems and bugs in SharpCap
Forum rules
‍

If you have a problem or question, please check the FAQ to see if it already has an answer : https://www.sharpcap.co.uk/sharpcap-faqs

Please also read about Troubleshooting USB Issues before posting.

*** Please do not post license keys - please report any problems with licensing to 'admin' by private message ***

Please include the following details in any bug report:

* Version of SharpCap
* Camera and other hardware being user
* Operating system version
* Contents of the SharpCap log after the problem has occurred.
[If SharpCap crashes, please send the bug report when prompted instead of including the log]
Post Reply
nexusjeep
Posts: 383
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 3:01 pm
Location: Gloucestershire

Settings Filename Tab Issue

#1

Post by nexusjeep »

Hi Robin,
This is not a bug per se but more of a unwanted behaviour issue, in the filenames tab of settings I had setup custom naming conventions and locations this was done a long time ago yesterday I decided I wanted to add a parameter to the raw frames and went to click the ? mark to get a list of available variable names but just missed the icon so clicked the background behind it, this removes the tick from edit filenames manually and when this happens it removes all of the customisation I had setup so I am currently going back through it trying to set it the same as it was. Would it be possible to limit the removing of the tick to the actual area of the tick box or to preserve any customisations that have been done.
Screenshot 2024-11-15 123651.png
Screenshot 2024-11-15 123651.png (43.34 KiB) Viewed 411 times
Cheers
Nick
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 17530
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Settings Filename Tab Issue

#2

Post by admin »

Hi Nick,

oops - that's not intentional for the checkbox to go all the way to the right, it should have just been the area where the label text is. I have correct that already and the change will be in the next version.

I think you could have got away without problems by using the 'Cancel' button on the settings straight away after the mistake - none of the settings changes get stored until you press 'OK' or 'Apply', so cancelling should drop you back out of the settings, then you can come back into the settings and find your original templates still there. Of course, that doesn't help if you have already pressed OK or Apply :(

cheers,

Robin

PS. You can also export your settings - this is designed to help transfer them to another computer, but can also be used for backup
nexusjeep
Posts: 383
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 3:01 pm
Location: Gloucestershire

Re: Settings Filename Tab Issue

#3

Post by nexusjeep »

Cheers for that Robin
Post Reply