Eclipse Sequence Generator

Questions, tips, information and discussions about using the SharpCap Sequencer and Sequence Planner tools
User avatar
linuxkidd
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2024 4:47 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Contact:

Re: Eclipse Sequence Generator

#41

Post by linuxkidd »

Hi Robin,
I just tested the 'STOP AT LOCALTIME' wrapper and it works perfect!

Re: The 'pad' and 'partialCollection' section I posted -- I won't really have control over that since a user can stack up all sorts of steps to occur inside the 'partialCollection' routine with any amount of time to complete. I don't use any 'start / stop' instruction pairs.. only the 'CAPTURE X LIVE FRAMES' and 'CAPTURE X SECONDS LIVE FRAMES'... So, there should be no issue with odd states between steps if the 'STOP' is used.

So, I think if we can get the 'if earlier that localtime' wrapper, I think we'll be completely set!

Thanks again for your help!
LK
Remote Observatory: At Astronomer's Paradise, Animas, NM
QHY600 PH with Astronomik filters via a Planewave CDK 12.5
AstroPhysics 1100-GTO AE Guided by ONAG-XM + ZWO ASI 174mm-mini
Links: Beyond1AU.com / Allsky / SharpCap Eclipse Sequence Generator
User avatar
linuxkidd
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2024 4:47 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Contact:

Re: Eclipse Sequence Generator

#42

Post by linuxkidd »

--- I got a bit too excited...

I just tested this:

Code: Select all

SEQUENCE
    STOP AT LOCALTIME 08:50:15
        LOOP UNTIL LATER THAN LOCALTIME 08:50:00
            PAD DURATION TO 1000
                CAPTURE 60 SECONDS LIVE FRAMES
                CAPTURE 1000 LIVE FRAMES
            END PAD DURATION
        END LOOP
    END STOP AT
END SEQUENCE
But I didn't start it until 09:13. This had the effect of completely skipping any collection and ending the sequence.
I'm working to update the Eclipse Sequencer code now. :)

-- I'd still love to have the 'IF EARLIER THAN LOCALTIME' to put around the initial step ( taking one partial collection before the loops start ).

EDIT:
Actually... I can wrap the pre-eclipse collection with a combination of STOP AT, LOOP UNTIL LATER THAN, and PAD... and achieve the same thing as an 'IF EARLIER THAN' step... So, no rush on this one.. although, it may 'look' cleaner.. I don't think that's a huge benefit overall.

Thanks!
LK
Remote Observatory: At Astronomer's Paradise, Animas, NM
QHY600 PH with Astronomik filters via a Planewave CDK 12.5
AstroPhysics 1100-GTO AE Guided by ONAG-XM + ZWO ASI 174mm-mini
Links: Beyond1AU.com / Allsky / SharpCap Eclipse Sequence Generator
User avatar
linuxkidd
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2024 4:47 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Contact:

Re: Eclipse Sequence Generator

#43

Post by linuxkidd »

Ok, I've updated the Sequencer to include the 'STOP AT' wrappers, and tested locally.
  • The sequence now strictly enforces the end times of each section and moves to the next section as desired.
  • The sequence does jump to the point in the script it should, if I re-run the sequence when some of the time has passed.
The only thing that happens, which I could eliminate with the 'IF EARLIER THAN LOCALTIME' instruction is the SOUND and NOTIFICATION from the earlier steps.. ( e.g. remove your filter, add your filter ).

Thanks!
LK
Remote Observatory: At Astronomer's Paradise, Animas, NM
QHY600 PH with Astronomik filters via a Planewave CDK 12.5
AstroPhysics 1100-GTO AE Guided by ONAG-XM + ZWO ASI 174mm-mini
Links: Beyond1AU.com / Allsky / SharpCap Eclipse Sequence Generator
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13347
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Eclipse Sequence Generator

#44

Post by admin »

Hi,

OK, that's all sounding promising. I will try to add in the IF EARLER THAN step over the weekend for Monday's update.

cheers,

Robin
User avatar
linuxkidd
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2024 4:47 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Contact:

Re: Eclipse Sequence Generator

#45

Post by linuxkidd »

Hi all,

Just a quick note that the Eclipse Sequencer has been updated to make extensive use of the new 'IF EARLIER THAN LOCALTIME' instruction. Please test and re-test... especially, try stopping and starting the sequence in the middle to be sure it skips what it should.. and starts back in on the part it should.


Thanks!

LK
Remote Observatory: At Astronomer's Paradise, Animas, NM
QHY600 PH with Astronomik filters via a Planewave CDK 12.5
AstroPhysics 1100-GTO AE Guided by ONAG-XM + ZWO ASI 174mm-mini
Links: Beyond1AU.com / Allsky / SharpCap Eclipse Sequence Generator
stbkaiser
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 2:57 pm

Re: Eclipse Sequence Generator no warnings

#46

Post by stbkaiser »

HI
Testing the eclipse seq generator.
created a "test" sequence from github program this evening
running with
SharpCapInstall-4.1.11947.0-64bit
the Seq runs through , taking files , But never announces any warnings (no color flashings) for beads or totality.
Attached is the seq file.
Any ideas why no warnings.
Thanks
Steve
Attachments
SharpCap_Eclipse_Sequence.scs
(7.41 KiB) Downloaded 17 times
User avatar
linuxkidd
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2024 4:47 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Contact:

Re: Eclipse Sequence Generator

#47

Post by linuxkidd »

Hi Steve,
I suspect this is a limitation of SharpCap at this moment.. It uses the same space for notifications as it does for status of collections, with only the newest item being displayed.

I believe it will still play the alert / error tones, but the messages are likely lost.

Maybe Robin can confirm?

Thanks,
LK
Remote Observatory: At Astronomer's Paradise, Animas, NM
QHY600 PH with Astronomik filters via a Planewave CDK 12.5
AstroPhysics 1100-GTO AE Guided by ONAG-XM + ZWO ASI 174mm-mini
Links: Beyond1AU.com / Allsky / SharpCap Eclipse Sequence Generator
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13347
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Eclipse Sequence Generator

#48

Post by admin »

Hi,

yes, the notification area can only show one notification, so any built in notifications from SharpCap will wipe any custom notifications from the sequence. There are also a few points where SharpCap deliberatly clears the current notification (starting a capture for instance) since seeing an old notification at that point can be confusing. These will also wipe the current notification from the sequence if there is one.

Some quick options for a workaround would be to introduce a delay after that sort of notification to allow it to show for maybe 10 seconds or so before proceeding. Another one would be to use the 'Countdown' step which displays a separate countdown message for a number of seconds. Both of these would introduce a short delay to the sequence, but that might be an acceptable tradeoff.

Long term, I want to have a way to scroll back through previous notifications, but there's no chance of that happening before the eclipse...

cheers,

Robin
User avatar
linuxkidd
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2024 4:47 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Contact:

Re: Eclipse Sequence Generator

#49

Post by linuxkidd »

I've added a new feature..

At the time of Solar Filter removal, and Solar Filter application, I now utilize a pop-up dialog in Windows to accompany the alert noise.

Thanks!
LK
Remote Observatory: At Astronomer's Paradise, Animas, NM
QHY600 PH with Astronomik filters via a Planewave CDK 12.5
AstroPhysics 1100-GTO AE Guided by ONAG-XM + ZWO ASI 174mm-mini
Links: Beyond1AU.com / Allsky / SharpCap Eclipse Sequence Generator
stbkaiser
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 2:57 pm

Re: Eclipse Sequence Generator

#50

Post by stbkaiser »

LK
Thanks for the update on your program.
Will give it a try today.
Really kind of you to do this for us.
Take care
Steve
Post Reply