Help With Headless Mini PC to Use With Sharpcap

Anything that doesn't fit into any of the other forums
VinnyV84

Help With Headless Mini PC to Use With Sharpcap

Post by VinnyV84 »

Hey All,

I am pretty new to this and own a Evolution 8 SCT. I enjoy Planetary Imaging & Livestacking and will begin to attemp EAA. I want to mount a headless Mini PC on OTA (mainly to bypass the Evolutions crappy Wifi) so I am looking for something thats small and light but also capable to run Sharpcap during an imaging session with no hangups. I have found this Beelink AMD Ryzen 7 5700U with 16GB RAM and 500GB SSD. I will NOT be using this for post processing - just capture and saving until transfering to a different PC. I am including the link below, any advice (or other suggestions to look at with a $400 budget) would be greatly appreciated!

https://www.amazon.com/Beelink-SER5-570 ... 9hdGY&th=1
admin
Site Admin

Re: Help With Headless Mini PC to Use With Sharpcap

Post by admin »

Hi,

I had a play with one of the Beelink mini PCs a few months back - the only real problem with it is the SSD, which slows down dramatically in terms of write speed after you have written about 10% of the capacity in a short period of time. This is almost certainly because the SSD uses QLC technology for capacity, which is slow to write. The drive keeps some space (about 10%) in faster SLC mode, but once you have filled that fast write space up, you start to get dropped frames. Deleting the files you have written into the fast write space and using Windows 'Optimize' on the drive will get you back up to speed, as will waiting (the drive moves the data to slower QLC storage in the background).

This will probably only be a real issue with lunar/solar imaging where you are trying to image at high speed and high resolution at the same time. Planetary is not so bad, as you will probably only be using a relatively small ROI for capture.