Imaging Jupiter

Discussions of using SharpCap for Planetary Imaging
robert w

Imaging Jupiter

Post by robert w »

Hi,
I am new to the hobby of planetary imaging. I been trying to image Jupiter for the past couple of weeks and have been having trouble getting a good quality images. My setup consists of: Celestron 6SE, Advance VX mount, 2x barlow and a ZWO ASI120MC-S camera. I read articles on the forum where people say to set the gain at 70, align the colors and achieve a histogram of 80% by adjusting the exposure. It seems pretty straightforward, but my results are not very good. I would be grateful if anyone could provide some tips to guide me on my way. Attached are a couple of my latest images and my camera settings.
Attachments
jupiter_registax.jpg
jupiter_registax.jpg (36.86 KiB) Viewed 4586 times
jupiter.tiff
jupiter.tiff (23.53 KiB) Viewed 4586 times
19_14_36.CameraSettings.txt
(1.06 KiB) Downloaded 102 times
turfpit

Re: Imaging Jupiter

Post by turfpit »

Robert

If you have just started planetary imaging, I would say that is a pretty good result. Looking at your capture settings, the values for gain and exposure look to be very much as I would expect. Planetary results are subject to how much atmospheric turbulence is present at the time of capture.

Some things to try:
  • capture with SER format, it is the preferred format for planetary/lunar
  • use RAW8 (RGB24 gives 3x larger files)
  • don't worry about colour balance as this can be sorted with Registax

Left image is the result from Autostakkert, right image after colour balance (and sharpening) applied using Registax.

colour-balance.JPG
colour-balance.JPG (17.31 KiB) Viewed 4573 times

using:

Registax-1.JPG
Registax-1.JPG (170.36 KiB) Viewed 4573 times

This was using a ZWO ASI120MC USB2 camera with a Celestron C8, the settings being very similar to yours.

Jupiter-ASI120MC.JPG
Jupiter-ASI120MC.JPG (53.39 KiB) Viewed 4573 times