Issues with Settings - Jupiter

Discussions of using SharpCap for Planetary Imaging
eric.parsons

Issues with Settings - Jupiter

Post by eric.parsons »

Good afternoon all!

If this is the wrong forum, I humbly apologize and ask that this be moved to the right place. I've been using Sharpcap with an SvBony SV305 for over two years and have not had many (any?) problems, save for when my Dob's mirrors got out of whack and we had to fix that. However, my son and I have run into what I think is an odd issue that cropped up most recently when trying to image Jupiter.

The live feed and resulting SER files are very, very pixelated. It doesn't really show a disk, just a spiderish looking thing with some hints of dark bands. However, this only happens on HIS laptop (which we only use if I'm doing long exposure deep sky photography with mine at the same time). His is an ASUS gaming laptop, a fairly power rig (I don't have it near me right now, but suffice to say, it's a good machine). When using mine, apart from the images having a slight yellowish cast, this does not repeat. My laptop is an HP-15dw0037wm--standard everything, no upgrades (though that's coming in two months). I suspect that it's the graphics card in my son's laptop...that is, it's pretty overpowered, so to speak.

My mirrors are fine, this is not a problem there or with focus...or at least, I'm as close to 100% on this as one can be. I suspect it's either a settings issue or a compatibility issue between the laptop and the camera itself (or perhaps the camera is going bad?). At any rate, I've re-reviewed the excellent guide on capturing Jupiter and I'm at a loss. I've had excellent success before, so I figured crowdsourcing some ideas to try was a good route.