Sharpcap on Macbook pro m2 running windows

Somewhere to ask questions about the best way to use SharpCap
Forum rules

If you have a problem or question, please check the FAQ to see if it already has an answer : https://www.sharpcap.co.uk/sharpcap-faqs
kleanthise88

Sharpcap on Macbook pro m2 running windows

Post by kleanthise88 »

Hello ,

I am in the process of debating whether to purchase a new macbook pro m2 and run windows on it with parallels. Will Sharpcap operate ok on it? i am aware m2 chips have some issues with various windows applications .

If that will not work then i am guessing the best choice will be a microsoft surface pro 9 . Could you please advice me on the right direction ?

Thanks
Kleanthis
admin
Site Admin

Re: Sharpcap on Macbook pro m2 running windows

Post by admin »

Hi,

I have no experience of the M2 or M1 Mac computers, but I know they run an ARM processor. SharpCap is designed for Windows on x86 processors, so if you are going to run it on an M1 or M2, there will be emulation of an x86 going on somewhere. I have no idea how well that works, or how it manages for performance. Personally, I think I'd be hoping to see a report from someone who had got it working before I assumed it would be workable...

The Surface Pro 9 should be fine, as it has an Intel CPU (note that the Surface Pro 9 5G is Arm, and also falls into the 'untested' category). There were some issues with older Surface Pro systems that came up, but an update of the Graphics driver to the latest version seemed to cure them.

cheers,

Robin
mwob

Post by mwob »