Does SharpCap control ASTAP platesolve configuration?

Using SharpCap for other Astro Imaging such as all sky cameras and meteor detection
GOT_SC

Does SharpCap control ASTAP platesolve configuration?

Post by GOT_SC »

Hello,
I understand from ASTAP documentation - that it can be initiated by the command line - which can include specific parameters.

Here is my issue which I cannot currently resolve.

I am trying to get integration between SharpCap and ASTAP for a platesolve and mount sync process.
I have never used this feature in SharpCap before.

I am using SharpCap 3.2 in a Windows 7 laptop dedicated to astro

I start out by setting exposure to 1 second and gain to 350
I take a snapshot - and save it as a FITS file.
I open up ASTAP and perform an analysis on the file to see if ASTAP can solve it.
ASTAP can solve the file correctly - within 20 seconds - with blind-solving mode.

Ok that works!
So now we need to initiate an ASTAP plate-solve from SharpCap
I setup the correct options in SharpCap.
- Use ASTAP
- Yes re-sync the mount after a plate-solve

Now remember - I've taken snapshot images saved as FITS files and ASTAP is solving them with no problem.
So now I initiate the plate-solve function in SharpCap
ASTAP notifies me that it is taking an image - but it is not taking a FITS image
For some strange reason - it is taking a PNG image
It is saving that PNG image in the APPDATA folder as a temp file

It fails to resolve the image.
I try different exposure and gain settings - still the same thing - no plate solve!

How is it that ASTAP can resolve the fits image - and not the PNG image????
How do I know if ASTAP is not performing a 180 degree solve?
How do I know if ASTAP is using the correct FOV setting?
How do I know if ASTAP is not using the correct index files

All of those options are happening invisible to me when ASTAP is initiated from SharpCap
Is SharpCap telling ASTAP to resolve a PNG file?
And if so - why not a FITS file?
GOT_SC