Automatic refocus with ZWO EAF

Discussion of using SharpCap for Deep Sky Imaging
Candieman

Automatic refocus with ZWO EAF

Post by Candieman »

I just got a ZWO EAF, so I am a complete novice in the area of autofocusing. I’ve read other’s posts regarding automatic refocus within SharpCap and so I installed my EAF on my C925 EdgeHD and dared to test it last night using the SharpCap Automatic Refocus tool. Being the first time, I got somewhat confusing and discouraging results. Here’s a screenshot showing one sample result:
autofocusresult.070323.JPG
autofocusresult.070323.JPG (657.46 KiB) Viewed 11381 times

I’ve got a million other questions that I hope to find answers to myself over the next few nights, but let me ask this one: Can someone tell me why SharpCap couldn’t find a good focus point with this curve? It looks like there’s one to me. The original scan was to end at 532416, but SharpCap extended this to 532716. It looks like maybe it didn’t take those extra points into account. Why not? Also, on those relatively rare occasions when I did get a good focus with this tool, I immediately reran the automatic refocus tool and it could NOT come up with a good focus, even though it did just minutes ago. Would that be due to backlash and not moving in the proper direction? I think my backlash is about 100, but it seems tough to pin down with a C925 EdgeHD. Is the exact value really necessary, or something that is ”close enough” all that is needed?
Rich
admin
Site Admin

Re: Automatic refocus with ZWO EAF

Post by admin »

Hi Rich,

it looks like a very good focus curve to me, so I am a bit surprised that it didn't find the best position. However, there have been a good few improvements to the code around this feature in SharpCap 4.1 (you can download the SharpCap 4.1 Beta here : https://www.sharpcap.co.uk/sharpcap/sha ... p-4-1-beta), so giving that a try may be worthwhile.