Plate Solving issue with Sharpcap Pro

Somewhere to ask questions about the best way to use SharpCap
Forum rules

If you have a problem or question, please check the FAQ to see if it already has an answer : https://www.sharpcap.co.uk/sharpcap-faqs
mhb1989

Plate Solving issue with Sharpcap Pro

Post by mhb1989 »

I am new to this and trying to do EAA. Had a 9.25 inch scope but decided to use a smaller/faster one so I could plate solve/center easily. So now I have on a permanent pier an AP 1100 go to mount, a Televue NP 101 (4 inches) - my goal tonight was to polar align using sharpcap and then look at stuff but it turned out to be the worst night ever which is too bad as it was SOOOO clear!

First I tried the polar alignment tool -it plate solved in like 2 seconds and worked great (and it wasn't even really that dark yet). I was optimistic. I wasn't sure what you do to change the up/down but since I managed an "excellent" I figured that was good enough. Then I slewed to M57. it wasn't there and I could see visually that it was off a bit.

Tried to plate solve/resync so I could SEE m57. Spent 2 hours trying -used between 2-4 second exposure, kept adjusting the gain -sometimes it would say "only found 15 stars, increase gain" and then I would change it by a small amount and it would either not give an error or say "too many stars" though it was super close. I went between 150-400 gain over and over but could not get it to plate solve/sync. NOT ONCE. I'm ready to cry -how can I see anything to live stack if I can't center the object of even have it in the field of view (which it was not).I must be doing something wrong or have some setting wrong.

Therefore could not center any object to look at it - not m13, not m92. With a 4 inch scope I didn't think I'd have this issue like with the celestron. on the screen (I have a big monitor) I could see 100 stars but sharpcap could "only" see 7. I feel like I'm doing something very basic wrong.