Beta 4.1.10790 goto fails at unpark step

Discussions, Bug Reports and Issues related to Beta versions of SharpCap
Post Reply
Oberon510
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2021 5:15 pm

Beta 4.1.10790 goto fails at unpark step

#1

Post by Oberon510 »

Hi Robin,

I am running the latest beta and executing a Goto Catalog menu item and the first step (Unpark) fails. The mount is not parked also.

Here are some of the logs. Any thoughts?

Thanks,
Ken

Warning 21:59:31.016592 #1 Obtaining lease on WriteableBitmap took 285ms in new SharpCap.ViewModels.WriteableBitmapWriteLease(WriteableBitmap wb)
Info 21:59:34.144535 #1 Generating sequencer code for Goto Catalog Target/Co-ordinates status :
GotoCatalogTarget:TargetName=M3 (NGC 5272)|Enabled=True
GotoCoordinates:Name=|Coordinates=|Enabled=False
Refine:Enabled=True
in ScriptBlock SharpCap.MiniWizards.MiniWizardModel.CreateScript(bool liveCompile)
Info 21:59:36.273028 #1 Generating sequencer code for Goto Catalog Target/Co-ordinates status :
GotoCatalogTarget:TargetName=M3 (NGC 5272)|Enabled=True
GotoCoordinates:Name=|Coordinates=|Enabled=False
Refine:Enabled=True
in ScriptBlock SharpCap.MiniWizards.MiniWizardModel.CreateScript(bool liveCompile)
Info 21:59:36.274668 #1 Generating sequencer code for Goto Catalog Target/Co-ordinates status :
GotoCatalogTarget:TargetName=M3 (NGC 5272)|Enabled=True
GotoCoordinates:Name=|Coordinates=|Enabled=False
Refine:Enabled=True
in ScriptBlock SharpCap.MiniWizards.MiniWizardModel.CreateScript(bool liveCompile)
Info 21:59:36.294107 #1 The sequence being run is :
SEQUENCE
MOUNT UNPARK
MOUNT TRACKING Sidereal
MOUNT GOTO RA=13:42:11,Dec=+28:22:59
TARGETNAME "M3 (NGC 5272)"
WAIT FOR FRAME
MOUNT SOLVEANDSYNC
END SEQUENCE in async Task SharpCap.Sequencer.SequencerContext.RunAsync(ScriptBlock script)
Debug 21:59:36.294597 #1 Sequencer : Starting : in void SharpCap.Sequencer.SequencerContext.OnProgress(string e)
Debug 21:59:36.295006 #1 Sequencer : Starting : Unpark the mount in void SharpCap.Sequencer.SequencerContext.OnProgress(string e)
Error 22:01:06.329222 #1 Running step Unpark the mount : Exception of type 'Exception' : Mount failed to unpark within 90 seconds
Stack Trace: at async Task SharpCap.Sequencer.Steps.MountUnParkStep.ExecuteImplAsync(ISequencerContext context, CancellationToken cancellationToken) in C:/Documents/Source Code/SharpCap/src/SharpCap/Sequencer/Steps/MountParkStep.cs:line 87
at async Task SharpCap.Sequencer.Steps.StepBase.ExecuteAsync(ISequencerContext context, CancellationToken cancellationToken, bool internalUse) in C:/Documents/Source Code/SharpCap/src/SharpCap/Sequencer/Steps/StepBase.cs:line 132 in void SharpCap.Sequencer.SequencerContext.OnStepError(ISequencerStep step, Exception exception)
Info 22:01:06.329474 #1 The script being run was :
SEQUENCE
MOUNT UNPARK
MOUNT TRACKING Sidereal
MOUNT GOTO RA=13:42:11,Dec=+28:22:59
TARGETNAME "M3 (NGC 5272)"
WAIT FOR FRAME
MOUNT SOLVEANDSYNC
END SEQUENCE in void SharpCap.Sequencer.SequencerContext.OnStepError(ISequencerStep step, Exception exception)
Debug 22:01:06.329662 #1 Sequencer : Error : 'Mount failed to unpark within 90 seconds' while running step Unpark the mount in void SharpCap.Sequencer.SequencerContext.OnProgress(string e)
Info 22:01:06.330601 #1 The sequence is now finished. in async Task SharpCap.Sequencer.SequencerContext.RunAsync(ScriptBlock script)
Warning 22:01:06.340202 #1 Goto Catalog Target/Co-ordinates failed : Exception of type 'Exception' : Mount failed to unpark within 90 seconds () in async Task<bool> SharpCap.MiniWizards.MiniWizardModel.RunAsync()
Debug 22:01:06.340466 #1 Notification (Status=Error): Goto Catalog Target/Co-ordinates failed due to : Mount failed to unpark within 90 seconds in void SharpCap.UI.NotificationViewModel.DisplayMessage(NotificationMessage message)
Info 22:01:11.690614 #1 Toolbar/Menu input : SharpCap.ViewModels.Actions.GotoCoordinateAction complete
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13362
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Beta 4.1.10790 goto fails at unpark step

#2

Post by admin »

Hi,

can you send me the whole log please?

There seem to be two possibilities for the error

1) The mount ASCOM driver is still reporting 'parked' even though it isnt
2) The periodic refresh of the ASCOM driver status in SharpCap is failing, stopping SharpCap from noticing the change in the parked status

Both would cause SharpCap to think the mount was still parked and eventually time out waiting for it to unpark. If it is possibility 2 then there would probably be evidence of something going wrong earlier in the log, which would point to the real cause of the problem.

thanks,

Robin
Oberon510
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2021 5:15 pm

Re: Beta 4.1.10790 goto fails at unpark step

#3

Post by Oberon510 »

Attached log file

Thanks,
Ken
Attachments
Log_2023-06-13T17_42_40-9796.zip
(43.8 KiB) Downloaded 28 times
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13362
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Beta 4.1.10790 goto fails at unpark step

#4

Post by admin »

Hi Ken,

thanks for sharing the log - what I can see is that about 21:26 your mount disconnected for some reason - the attempts to refresh the position and status started getting 'NotConnected' errors. SharpCap retried for about 1 minute in the hope that it might be temporary and then gave up trying to update the mount.

About half an your later, you tried running the sequence including the unpark and the unpark is an action that can cause SharpCap to try to reconnect to the mount. The reconnection seems to have succeeded, but the bug is that the reconnection does not trigger the status refresh to restart, so SharpCap never spotted that the unpark had completed.

Thanks for the report - it revealed a gap in how the reconnection works and I will try to fix it. I will also look into popping up a notification if the mount seems to have disconnected.

cheers,

Robin
Post Reply