Saved settings

Somewhere to ask questions about the best way to use SharpCap
Forum rules
‍

If you have a problem or question, please check the FAQ to see if it already has an answer : https://www.sharpcap.co.uk/sharpcap-faqs
Post Reply
john_robertson1953
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2022 6:02 pm

Saved settings

#1

Post by john_robertson1953 »

Hi Robin and all,

I noticed when I have 2cameras open in SC, when I switch between the two, some kind of default settings repopulate. Before I fooled around trying to set up different camera profiles for imaging and guiding, I believed I opened with settings with what I previously closed with.

Now it no longer opens with what I previously closed with. So as part of my focusing routine between the 2 cameras, I’m constantly having to change settings when I switching between the 2 cameras.

I thought possibly setting up different profiles had something to do with it, so I attempted to delete profiles that I had set up. Unfortunately the specific camera under each profile heading I could delete, but not the general heading. If I go to Manage capture profile, I still see a heading for each camera, but everything is greyed out. See attached.

I think I’d like to go back to having the settings load that had previously closed with.

How to do?

Thank you.
Attachments
F0368AC1-8496-44FA-AB46-309BBEFD28CF.jpeg
F0368AC1-8496-44FA-AB46-309BBEFD28CF.jpeg (383.65 KiB) Viewed 558 times
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 17492
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Saved settings

#2

Post by admin »

Hi John,

it looks like there are no manually saved capture profiles for those cameras any more, so that explains why you can't really do anything in that window. You can create new profiles if you want (set up the camera, use the 'Save As' button to save a new profile, then you can use the 'Manage' window to make the new profile the default if you want).

However, I suspect that you might have been getting the settings back because of the 'Automatically restore last used camera settings' on the first page of the camera settings. Under certain circumstances, SharpCap can turn this option off automatically (basically if the camera fails when trying to restore the previous settings - this is to avoid the failure happening every time you open the camera from then on). So, it's worth a check to see if that option has been turned off and to turn it on again.

cheers,

Robin
Post Reply