Sensor Analysis (Sony a6400) brightness clamped at 50%?

jprincen

Sensor Analysis (Sony a6400) brightness clamped at 50%?

Post by jprincen »

I just connected my mirrorless sony a6400 via its ascom driver, and when trying to do sensor analysis the brightness seems to clamp at 50%, and no matter what I do it will never go above this. I have attached a screenshot.
Screenshot from 2022-12-02 11-38-03.png
Screenshot from 2022-12-02 11-38-03.png (202.63 KiB) Viewed 5664 times
I am new to Sharpcap. Am I missing some setting on the camera or sharpcap itself?

John.
admin
Site Admin

Re: Sensor Analysis (Sony a6400) brightness clamped at 50%?

Post by admin »

Hi John,

I suspect that this is something coming from the ASCOM driver that you are using for the Sony camera. An ASCOM driver can report to SharpCap the maximum pixel value that it will produce (via a property called MaxADU). SharpCap uses this when building the image from the ASCOM driver data. For instance if the driver reports a MaxADU of 20000, but none of the pixels can ever go above 10000 in the actual image then you will see exactly the sort of thing you have noted with the brightness never going above 50%.

There may be options to the ASCOM driver that let you configure this sort of thing - try pressing the 'Show' button for the ASCOM driver options on the right to see what you can adjust. Also the gain looks like a weird value - what gain values are available to you and does anything change if you use other gains?

cheers,

Robin
jprincen

Post by jprincen »

Thanks for the feedback. The ASCOM driver is just reporting back a fixed value (not camera dependent) of 20000 for MaxADU. Unfortunately I can't change it from the UI, since the developer hard coded it. Not sure if it is correct or not, but I will take a more detailed look at the actual data returned and see. If it is wrong, I can probably tell the developer, and also recompile the driver myself.