Cannot get Polar Alignment to Solve on Step 1 Screen

Using SharpCap's Polar Alignment feature
randysmith22

Cannot get Polar Alignment to Solve on Step 1 Screen

Post by randysmith22 »

I am new with this software and would like to get some guidance on what I am doing wrong when I try to use Sharp Cap to Polar Align. I have a Celestron 127 telescope with a Explore Scientific iEX)S 100 tracking mount, and Celestron Neximage Curst C camera. I tried a couple of times to use the polar align but cannot get past the first step. I have adjusted the gain and exposure but nothing.

Screen Shot is attached.
Do I need to adjust the Sensitivity and Noise Adjustment on this screen?
I have entered my longitude and latitude.

I would appreiciate any help. I am new to all this and would like to learn how to polar align with this software since it is difficult to properly see Polaris from my house due to the light.
Attachments
Polar Align Screen2.jpg
Polar Align Screen2.jpg (152.64 KiB) Viewed 5466 times
admin
Site Admin

Re: Cannot get Polar Alignment to Solve on Step 1 Screen

Post by admin »

Hi,

So, I think there are two different Celestron 127 telescopes - the Newtonian one with a 1000mm focal length and the Mak-cas with about 1500mm focal length. Whichever you have, I think the biggest problem is that when combined with the Neximage burst camera, either will give you a really tiny field of view of the sky - much smaller than the 0.5 by 0.5 degrees that is the minimum for SharpCap polar alignment. You can check on this web site , https://astronomy.tools/calculators/field_of_view/ , but I would estimate your field of view will be somewhere in the 0.2 to 0.25 degrees range.

You will need to use a much shorter focal length telescope (about 200mm focal length - a small guide scope is good for this), or a camera with a much larger sensor to get the required field of view.