Plate Solving Problem

A place to report problems and bugs in SharpCap
Forum rules

If you have a problem or question, please check the FAQ to see if it already has an answer : https://www.sharpcap.co.uk/sharpcap-faqs

Please also read about Troubleshooting USB Issues before posting.

*** Please do not post license keys - please report any problems with licensing to 'admin' by private message ***

Please include the following details in any bug report:

* Version of SharpCap
* Camera and other hardware being user
* Operating system version
* Contents of the SharpCap log after the problem has occurred.
[If SharpCap crashes, please send the bug report when prompted instead of including the log]
muzastro

Plate Solving Problem

Post by muzastro »

Hi all,

I’m very new to astrophotography and recently purchased SharpCap - one reason being that I like the ability to plate solve within the capture software.

I am struggling to get plate solving to work, however. I use All Sky Plate Solver within Sharpcap and I will play around with the settings typically so I can see maybe 5-10 stars and the plate solver says it has found around 50-60 sources.

The problem is that very rarely am I able to successfully plate solve, and I’ve only ever managed to plate solve twice in one night once.

Recently, when a plate solve failed, I took a snapshot of the exact same framing and uploaded it to astrometry.net. The image was solved almost right away. Furthermore, I then downloaded the FITS file output from astrometry and opened it within the standalone All Sky Plate Solver. The image was solved in around 30 seconds.

I’m not sure if I’ve set up the plate solver incorrectly or something else is going on - but the fact that (on a rare occasion) I can plate solve, leads me to think something else may be occurring.

Has anyone else ran into this issue and managed to resolve it?

Thanks
admin
Site Admin

Re: Plate Solving Problem

Post by admin »

Hi,