Is a Plate Solve required ?

Discussions of Electronically Assisted Astronomy using the Live Stacking feature.
OregonSky

Is a Plate Solve required ?

Post by OregonSky »

Eaa Newbie here. I have been reading and watching video about Eaa. I have not bought a camera yet. I have only had an ancient first Generation Neximage to play with on Sharpcap. I realize its not even close to usable but I did make it found by Sharpcap and took a couple single exposures of the moon. It gave me a chance to play with Sharpcap and gain some experience with exposure - gain - brightness - etc. The Neximage is not sensitive enough see anything else. I realize that live stack would not produce a usable result but I clicked it just to see what happens. It says cannot plate solve. I have Starsense and thus do have some understanding of Plate Solving.

Wondering something ...
If my Celestron 6se's GoTo is right on and an actual camera was attached so that the object is centered, is a plate solve required or can you just begin to stack ?

I do also have a CPC 11 and my eventual goal in Eaa would be to gain better visual views of fainter galaxies ( 10 - 11 - 12s ) but I realize it would be a tough goal to start with. Just as with Telescopes, no one camera is going to be right for everything but I'm trying to make a wise choice of a first camera that will still have purpose if I learn enough to move to my goal camera.

Thank You
admin
Site Admin

Re: Is a Plate Solve required ?

Post by admin »

Hi,

if you are just using live stacking then I wonder if the message you are seeing is 'Could not align'? Using live stacking doesn't actually make any plate solving happen, but it does try to line up each new frame with the last by detecting the patterns of stars in the images.