What do you like most about SharpCap?

Anything that doesn't fit into any of the other forums
rockenrock

What do you like most about SharpCap?

Post by rockenrock »

Hi SharpCap users.
I have been wondering what others most like about SharpCap. So what are the best features you like to use? Here is my list.... I am a newbie to SharpCap but have been doing deep sky images for years first with CCD, now with CMOS.
These are the things I like most:
1. The author of SharpCap, Dr. Robin Glover actually answers our questions here on the forum. And we know he knows what he is talking about. How many astro-equipment manufacturers do this?
2. For my first live stacking I used the brightness filter in real time to cancel any bad subs before they were stacked. A cloud comes, PHD2 starts binging, and live stacking rejects that 30 sec sub automatically via the brightness filter. Now I look back thinking how many 5 or 10 minute subs I saved, and used when I had clouds going by and I didn't cancel the sub. As we all know, garbage in - garbage out!
3. I set up a basic sequence using sequence editor. I had no idea 'programming' (haha) could be so easy. And you can test every step with the test step button!
4. I ran camera characterization, and better understand what the terminology and results mean. It was a very thorough characterization and varied many settings to cover the full range. Wow. I always like this kind of analysis, and reminds me of John Murphy's Neutralize Gradient Script which has a huge amount to data analysis used to get the best out of your images.

Next on my list to try are 1. Calculation of best sub exposure time/settings for my light polluted site. 2. Use PHD2 guiding and dithering via SharpCap. 3. Polar Alignment. 4. Check collimation. 5. Plate solving/ mount control. 6. Write a real script to do the full imaging I want to do. 7. Collect some photons and process in PI!

Roger
ChrisR Oz

Re: What do you like most about SharpCap?

Post by ChrisR Oz »

Hi Roger,