Problem with data or calibration

Discussion of using SharpCap for Deep Sky Imaging
alinderbaum

Problem with data or calibration

Post by alinderbaum »

Last night I captured 81s x 180 subs of M81 with what appears to be really good data. I took my flats as I have been for 2 years now, same with bias and darks. The result shows several issues that I have never experienced, and I am having a hard time understanding what the cause is.

With the exception of some airplane lines, I have not seen anything wrong with either the lights, or calibration frames. Again, I have not experienced any issue in the past year and a half or so and am at a loss. Does anyone have insight they can share? In somewhat laymen's terms as I am still relatively new to astrophotography.

Also, after cropping and applying DBE to get a better look, I am noticing many large red dots/groups of red dots on the right side I have not seen before. They do not appear to be hot pixels (or look like what hot pixels have looked like in the past).

For stacking, I used DSS.
Altair 269C camera
AVX mount
PHD2 for guiding

Here is a link to the stacked image, flats, dark flats, master dark, master bias and a couple of the individual light frames. Thank you!

https://1drv.ms/u/s!AhE2Rt0-5SmlgcNn2TF ... Q?e=n6cnzq
admin
Site Admin

Re: Problem with data or calibration

Post by admin »

Hi,

you have a glow on the right hand side of your master dark that isn't there in the image frames - that is causing the dark area on the right when you stretch the 'autosave.fits' stacked image, and I am thinking it may also be part of the cause of the red dots due to incorrect dark subtraction in that area.

The glow doesn't look like sensor glow (if it was, it should show up in the light frames too). I suspect you may have had a light leak when capturing the darks.

cheers,

Robin
alinderbaum

Post by alinderbaum »

Robin,