Intro Sharpcap video wanted

Somewhere to ask questions about the best way to use SharpCap
Forum rules

If you have a problem or question, please check the FAQ to see if it already has an answer : https://www.sharpcap.co.uk/sharpcap-faqs
Moonstruck

Intro Sharpcap video wanted

Post by Moonstruck »

Since I am very new to using sharpcap (for deep sky imaging anyway), is there an introductory video somewhere I can watch, that can walk me through the basic steps of setting up and capturing an image? For example, do I set the gain first then adjust the exposure, or the other way around? Also I'm not sure how to interpret the histogram, how it is used/adjusted, etc. I am asking because last night I was fighting with the gain and exposure constantly to get my images to appear correctly, and I didn't really know what I was doing... they kept appearing and disappearing with my adjustments, and I would struggle getting them to appear and stay on the screen. I know there is a sharpcap user manual, but it would be good if I could find a basic, intro (newbee) Sharpcap video on things like setting gain and exposure, what to do if your image disappears, how the histogram works and how to make basic adjustments to it. If there is something like this I'd be really interested in watching it!
turfpit

Re: Intro Sharpcap video wanted

Post by turfpit »

Histogram info here https://docs.sharpcap.co.uk/4.0/#The%20Histogram in the manual.

Try this for deep sky workflow viewtopic.php?t=2552

You don't say if you are trying lunar, planetary or deep sky imaging. If I know this, I can point to other posts of mine which have info on histograms and settings.

What camera are you using?

Dave
Moonstruck

Post by Moonstruck »