Polar alignment with an OAG

Using SharpCap's Polar Alignment feature
bluesilver

Polar alignment with an OAG

Post by bluesilver »

Hi, I have been using SharpCap for a few years now doing a polar alignment and has been working a treat.
I have been doing this by a guide scope, but now i am going to be using an OAG

So my question is:
Can i still polar align with an OAG or am i better polar aligning via the main imaging camera?
My scope is a Skywatcher Esprit 150
Main imaging camera is ZWO ASI2600mc
Guide camera is a ZWO ASI290mm mini

The specs of the imaging camera and scope according to astronomy.tools are:
Focal Ratio: 7
Resolution: 0.74"x0.74" per pixel
Field of View: 1.28° x 0.86°
Dawes Limit: 0.77 arc/secs

The specs of the guide camera and scope are:
Focal Ratio: 7
Resolution: 0.57"x0.57" per pixel
Field of View: 0.31° x 0.17°
Dawes Limit: 0.77 arc/secs

I could be wrong here, but with the guide camera connected to the OAG, the field of view has become very narrow and i am thinking polar aligning with the main imaging camera would be the way to go here.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.
admin
Site Admin

Re: Polar alignment with an OAG

Post by admin »

Hi,

yes, the FOV for the OAG will almost certainly be too small to work for polar alignment, so you will be much better off using your main camera (and that will work fine).

cheers,

Robin
bluesilver

Post by bluesilver »

Sorry for the delay in replying,
Thanks for the reply, is very much appreciated.
Keen to put it all into practice as soon as i get a clear night.
Cheers.
zerolatitude

Post by zerolatitude »

Apart from the small FoV, OAG stars can get distorted, and Platesolving may not work as well as with a guidescope.
bluesilver

Post by bluesilver »

Thanks for the information in regards to the OAG.
This will be the first time using one, i am interested to see how it compares to the 60mm guide scope that i have been using.