Help with drift

Discussions of Electronically Assisted Astronomy using the Live Stacking feature.
bhalkett

Help with drift

Post by bhalkett »

I'm very new to astronomy, AP and EAA so please forgive any obvious mistakes. I seem to be getting a lot of drift and field rotation as indicated by the attached cropped image of M31 and the SC drift chart.

Here are the details:
Scope: Celestron 8se with Hyperstar
Mount: Celestron AVX with latest firmware
Camera: ASI533MC Pro
Software: SharpCap 4 Pro, CPWI v2.3.5

I've setup as follows:
1) Level the mount.
2) Polar align with the Celestron Polar Scope.
3) Connect to the mount with CPWI and SC. Verified that tracking is set to sidereal in SC.
4) Performed alignment with CPWI (several stars recommended by CPWI and all in the general area of M31) with All Star Polar Alignment (ASPA) at the end (zero physical adjustment needed). Note that I used ASTAP within SC to plate solve (Sync mount and re-center target) to center each star.
5) Verified align on a couple of stars.
6) Performed a Goto to M31 in CWPI
7) Verified centered on M31 via ASTAP plate solve (solve only)
8) Started Live Stack (30s exposures)

It appears clear that SC is doing a good job via alignment handling the drift and field rotation. It also appears that the AVX mount is not tracking well. I did also verify (to the best of my ability) that everything is using J2000 epoch.

I realize that this isn't a Celestron AVX forum so my question is what from the attached stacked image and SC drift chart can help my diagnose this.

Thanks in advance.
-Brian
Attachments
M31 cropped image
M31 cropped image
M31-Drift-Crop.png (645.02 KiB) Viewed 2632 times
Drif charts
Drif charts
M31-Drift-Chart.PNG (244.38 KiB) Viewed 2632 times
admin
Site Admin

Re: Help with drift

Post by admin »

Hi Brian,

I think the drift is definitely the thing to attack here - it's even possible that the rotation might be a side effect of that.