Page 1 of 1

SharpCap to ASTAP interaction crash if Windows username has a space

Posted: Tue Aug 04, 2020 1:00 am
by deonb
If your Windows username has a space inside it, with the default TMP file location, the SharpCap launch of ASTAP will cause ASTAP to pop up an error message like this, and not actually perform the plate-solve:
--astap--
Access denied.

Press OK to ignore and risk data corruption.
Press Abort to kill the program.
This is because SharpCap tries to launch ASTAP with this command line:

Code: Select all

"c:\Program Files\Astap\Astap.exe" -f C:\Users\Richard Feynman\AppData\Local\Temp\e75042d2-a321-3349-9e6d-a69075794258\frame.png -ra 9.000 -spd 90.000 -r 180.000 -z 0
This makes ASTAP think the filename requested is: "C:\Users\Richard". It should surround that filename with instead. e.g.

Code: Select all

"c:\Program Files\Astap\Astap.exe" -f "C:\Users\Richard Feynman\AppData\Local\Temp\e75042d2-a321-3349-9e6d-a69075794258\frame.png" -ra 9.000 -spd 90.000 -r 180.000 -z 0
To reproduce this:
a) Log in with a non-cloud user with a space in the name. e.g.: Firstname Lastname
b) Install ASAP & the Astap database.
c) In SharpCap Under File\Configuration set preferred plate solver to ASTAP
d) In SharpCap under Cameras, select "Test Camera 1 (Deep Sky)"
e) In SharpCap click on "Tools\Plate Solve"

OBSERVE: Astap error dialog above.

WORKAROUND: Move your system TEMP/TMP environment variables somewhere else, but that's a hard workaround to explain to some users.

Re: SharpCap to ASTAP interaction crash if Windows username has a space

Posted: Tue Aug 04, 2020 4:38 pm
by admin
Hi,

thanks for the excellent bug report – I will fix this one and get it released as soon as possible. I'm also mightily pleased that one of my heroes – Richard Feynman – is using SharpCap… even if from beyond the grave :)

Cheers, Robin

Re: SharpCap to ASTAP interaction crash if Windows username has a space

Posted: Sat Apr 10, 2021 6:54 pm
by jccarracedom
Hi,
Any update on this bug? Is there any workaround?
Thank you.

Re: SharpCap to ASTAP interaction crash if Windows username has a space

Posted: Sat Apr 10, 2021 7:46 pm
by admin
Hi,

fixed in SharpCap 4.0 - https://www.sharpcap.co.uk/sharpcap/sha ... s/4-0-beta

cheers,

Robin

Re: SharpCap to ASTAP interaction crash if Windows username has a space

Posted: Sat Apr 10, 2021 8:08 pm
by jccarracedom
Thank you so much.