Cannot do a sensor analysis on Mallincam DS10c TEC

Somewhere to ask questions about the best way to use SharpCap
Post Reply
DanK
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2019 9:58 pm

Cannot do a sensor analysis on Mallincam DS10c TEC

Post by DanK » Sat May 23, 2020 7:37 pm

Hello Robin et al>

I have a Mallincamsky DS10c TEC camera which has a Sony IMX294 sensor. These are used in ZWO's camera of that same name. However when I did an attempt at sensor analysis I got the following message:

See attachment

Now is there a way around this roadblock? 1) Can I not use the ZWO camera model that uses the same sensor? 2) Can I disable Direct Show?

Dan Kahraman
Attachments
Sensor analysis cannot be done on DS10c TEC_1.png
Sensor analysis cannot be done on DS10c TEC_1.png (61.84 KiB) Viewed 27 times

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4037
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Cannot do a sensor analysis on Mallincam DS10c TEC

Post by admin » Sat May 23, 2020 8:11 pm

Hi,

If the camera has an Ascom driver then you could try using that instead of the direct show driver. The problem with direct show is that you can only change the exposure in certain steps – for instance 1s, 0.5s, 0.25s, 0.125s, 1/16s, 1/32s etc. The sensor analysis procedure needs to be able to change the exposure by small amounts in order to balance the changes it makes to the gain against exposure changes and maintain the known brightness level, so direct show based cameras are not going to be supported for sensor analysis.

Cheers, Robin

DanK
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2019 9:58 pm

Re: Cannot do a sensor analysis on Mallincam DS10c TEC

Post by DanK » Sat May 23, 2020 8:16 pm

I uninstalled DirectX and through Mallincam ASCOM I am doing a sensor analysis now.
I will next make my own darks and flats for this camera through Sharpcap. I believe it can be done now

Dan Kahraman

Post Reply