Plate Solving Issues

A place to report problems and bugs in SharpCap
Forum rules
Please read about Troubleshooting USB Issues before posting.

*** Please do not post license keys - please report any problems with licensing to 'admin' by PM ***

Please include the following details in any bug report:

* Version of SharpCap
* Camera and other hardware being user
* Operating system version
* Contents of the SharpCap log after the problem has occurred.
[If SharpCap crashes, please send the bug report when prompted instead of including the log]
Post Reply
RMSQueenMary
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 4:58 am

Plate Solving Issues

Post by RMSQueenMary » Sat Feb 15, 2020 7:39 am

Just came back from starwatching. I used Sharpcap plate solve with no problems. It worked without any problems.

This time the plate solver did not work as well. When I tried to plate solve APM 08279+5255, my telescope would go crazy. The telescope would try to slew, but get caught on some part of the mount. It also happened to some objects. I would have to turn off the telescope and use Starsense to calibrate the Goto. I have a CGEM II mount using ASI294mc Pro. I first connect the telescope through Cartes du Ciel and then Sharpcap. I close the window that controls the telescope throught Cartes du Ciel.

Also, Sharpcap would not plate solve despite seeing many stars in some areas of the sky, mainly closer to the horizon. I adjusted sigma by lowering and still happened.

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3541
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Plate Solving Issues

Post by admin » Sun Feb 16, 2020 3:38 pm

Hi,

If you can share the SharpCap log file from the case where the telescope seemed to slew randomly then maybe we can work out what was going wrong. Sometimes you can get a false match with plate solving that can be a long way away from the real location in the sky, but SharpCap limits the search area to 15° of the current position, so that shouldn't be the case. I suppose that if you are pointing somewhere very close to the meridian then the plate solved position may be on the other side of the meridian from the current position which may make the telescope try to do a meridian flip.

Cheers,

RMSQueenMary
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 4:58 am

Re: Plate Solving Issues

Post by RMSQueenMary » Sun Feb 16, 2020 6:01 pm

admin wrote:
Sun Feb 16, 2020 3:38 pm
Hi,

If you can share the SharpCap log file from the case where the telescope seemed to slew randomly then maybe we can work out what was going wrong. Sometimes you can get a false match with plate solving that can be a long way away from the real location in the sky, but SharpCap limits the search area to 15° of the current position, so that shouldn't be the case. I suppose that if you are pointing somewhere very close to the meridian then the plate solved position may be on the other side of the meridian from the current position which may make the telescope try to do a meridian flip.

Cheers,
In regards to APM 08279+5255, I have had no trouble with the telescope plate solving when it was east of the meridian as it was rising. The last session, the quasar was close to the meridian.

In regards to plate solving I use ASI294mc Pro with TEC cooling. I set the exposure to 1 second and at 570 gain. I use a Lumicon Deep Sky filter and plate solving has worked for me until recently.

Post Reply