Saving Frames while stacking but box not checked?

Discussions of Electronically Assisted Astronomy using the Live Stacking feature.
Post Reply
Biggen
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2020 1:19 pm

Saving Frames while stacking but box not checked?

Post by Biggen » Sun Jan 05, 2020 1:53 pm

So I was running some live stacking last night and I didn't have the check box called "Save Individual Frames" checked. However, I noticed when I was done with my session, I looked in the Sharpcap Folder and saw yesterdays date with a Capture folder inside of that. When I clicked in that, I saw another folder with time time and yet another folder called "rawframes". Every single one of my .fit frames for my livestacking session was located in this rawframes folder.

So is Sharpcap saving individual frames even though "Save Indiviual Frames" is unchecked? Are these frames straight off the camera or are the light/dark masters being applied to them when they are being saved individually? I'm just trying to understand what the purpose of the "Save Individual Frame" box is if they are already being saved without ticking that box.

Also, is there a way to not average flat/darks and to have it save the individual calibration frames instead? I'd like to use Sharpcap as acquisition software and then feed darks, flats, flat darks, and lights into Astro Pixel Processor for post processing.

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3445
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Saving Frames while stacking but box not checked?

Post by admin » Sun Jan 05, 2020 4:07 pm

Hi,

Thanks for posting this – there was another thread on the same subject of saving the raw frames when the box was not checked a month or so back, but I could never reproduce the problem or work out how it could happen. If you are using an up-to-date version of SharpCap and you have the log from your live stacking session (this should have been saved in the normal location for SharpCap log files – see https://docs.sharpcap.co.uk/3.2/#How%20 ... %20a%20Bug ), then you can search the log for 'SaveRawFrames' which should track the initial value of the flag that determines whether raw frames are saved and any changes to that value. It would be very helpful if you could post the appropriate log file here for me to look at.

There is no way to save the individual frames that are captured during the 'capture flat' or 'capture dark' options. If you want to capture individual dark or flat frames you can use the normal capture tools in SharpCap (for instance clicking the start capture button and choosing the number of frames to capture). If you have enabled advanced filename templating then a drop-down will appear in the toolbar to enable you to select the type of frame you are capturing and you can put the frame type into the file name or path using the advanced templating configuration.

Cheers, Robin

Biggen
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2020 1:19 pm

Re: Saving Frames while stacking but box not checked?

Post by Biggen » Sun Jan 05, 2020 7:26 pm

Robin,

Here is the log file from last night: https://www.dropbox.com/s/3vqndcclgzkfn ... 0.log?dl=0

Hopefully that sheds some light on the issue.

I'm assuming the files in the "rawframes" folder don't have any preprocessing to them done at all. They are straight off the camera, correct?

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3445
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Saving Frames while stacking but box not checked?

Post by admin » Mon Jan 06, 2020 7:47 pm

Hi,

you are using quite an old version of SharpCap (relatively speaking, anyway) - certainly one that was made before I added the extra logging to try to track down this problem. Please can you download the latest (3.2.6194 or later) and see if either that fixes the problem or if not then it should have some useful info in the log.

The raw frames are straight off the camera with no processing.

Thanks, Robin

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests