show mouse cursor coordinates in status bar

Got an idea for something that SharpCap should do? Share it here.
Forum rules
'+1' posts are welcome in this area of the forums to indicate your support for a particular feature suggestion. Suggestions that get the most +1's will be seriously considered for inclusion in future versions of SharpCap.
Post Reply
freestar8n
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2019 4:22 am

show mouse cursor coordinates in status bar

Post by freestar8n » Mon Oct 07, 2019 7:06 am

Hi-

Many imaging tools show the mouse cursor x,y coordinates in the status bar - and I don't see a way to do this in SharpCap.

If there is a way to do this already I couldn't find it.

Even better would be to be able to click on a star and have it tracked and show its changing coordinates. It doesn't have to be perfect or deal with faint stars, or deal with crowded fields.

Thanks,
Frank

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3094
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: show mouse cursor coordinates in status bar

Post by admin » Mon Oct 07, 2019 7:20 pm

Hi,

Can you explain what you are trying to achieve with this information? I'm already rather short of space in the status bar, so it would be difficult to add any more information there which means I'm trying to understand the goal here to see if there is another way of approaching the problem.

Cheers, Robin

freestar8n
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2019 4:22 am

Re: show mouse cursor coordinates in status bar

Post by freestar8n » Tue Oct 08, 2019 9:03 am

Hi. Hmm - for me the status bar in 3.2 is fairly empty. I just want to see the x,y coordinates of the mouse as I move it around the screen. This is a fairly standard feature in imaging apps - and lets me know the x,y location of different objects in the scene, such as stars, as I point at them with the mouse.

A more advanced feature would be to track the x,y location of a star and follow it around over time - but just knowing the x,y location of the mouse cursor would be useful by itself.

Frank

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3094
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: show mouse cursor coordinates in status bar

Post by admin » Tue Oct 08, 2019 6:15 pm

Depending on the type of camera that you have more information appears in the status bar including temperature status if you have a cooled camera, so it can fill up quite quickly. I wonder if a cursor mode might be a better idea (click a button on the toolbar to enable it and then a crosshair would follow your mouse on screen showing info like pixel brightness and coordinates). I will consider that.

Cheers, Robin

freestar8n
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2019 4:22 am

Re: show mouse cursor coordinates in status bar

Post by freestar8n » Tue Oct 08, 2019 9:57 pm

Thank you. Yes I was using non cooled asi 290. Photoshop uses a similar separate dialog to show x,y and other info at the cursor location. That would be fine.

Frank

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest