Pc freezes

A place to report problems and bugs in SharpCap
Forum rules
Please read about Troubleshooting USB Issues before posting.

*** Please do not post license keys - please report any problems with licensing to 'admin' by PM ***

Please include the following details in any bug report:

* Version of SharpCap
* Camera and other hardware being user
* Operating system version
* Contents of the SharpCap log after the problem has occurred.
[If SharpCap crashes, please send the bug report when prompted instead of including the log]
Post Reply
theoatc
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:23 am

Pc freezes

Post by theoatc » Fri May 17, 2019 12:32 pm

Hello all. Recently bought the zwo 183 mono Pro and I am facing an issue. When I try to change 8 bit to 16 bit mode in Sharpcap, my lap freezes. Same thing happens when I use my 120 mono. I tried to change the values within the asicap software, same again. My laptop is running win 7 64 bit, rolled back from win 10 (which I despise and I had many issues with them in the past.)
The port I am using is usb 3, but same thing happens in whatever port I use. Any help?

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2861
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Pc freezes

Post by admin » Fri May 17, 2019 5:05 pm

Hi,

Since the problem is happening both with SharpCap and the ASI capture software then it is most likely that the problem is related to either the ZWO drivers or the ZWO SDK. I would suspect the drivers since it's actually pretty hard to completely hang up a Windows system from a non-privileged application like SharpCap, but it's fairly easy for a driver bug to have the same effect.

Aside from testing the normal tricks for USB related issues such as different cables, shorter cables, trying with and without a hub and trying a USB2 cable, your best bet is going to be asking the same question on the ZWO forums.

Cheers, Robin

theoatc
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:23 am

Re: Pc freezes

Post by theoatc » Sat May 18, 2019 10:39 am

Problem solved with a clean install of all zwo drivers and Sharpcap 64 bit. Thanks Robin for the recommendations and help. I hope nothing new comes up.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: RazvanUnderStars and 1 guest