QHY5iii 174M Gain control not working in v3.2

A place to report problems and bugs in SharpCap
Forum rules
Please read about Troubleshooting USB Issues before posting.

*** Please do not post license keys - please report any problems with licensing to 'admin' by PM ***

Please include the following details in any bug report:

* Version of SharpCap
* Camera and other hardware being user
* Operating system version
* Contents of the SharpCap log after the problem has occurred.
[If SharpCap crashes, please send the bug report when prompted instead of including the log]
Post Reply
martin3034baker
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2019 2:21 pm

QHY5iii 174M Gain control not working in v3.2

Post by martin3034baker » Sat Apr 13, 2019 3:00 pm

Hi Robin,
I updated my Sharpcap pro the other day from 3.1 to 3.2
The gain control for the QHY5iii 174M is fixed at 10, it may reduce to zero, I can see a change in histogram but the number is fixed at 10. Over writing makes no difference either. I cannot adjust the up from 10.
The version I'm using is 3.2.5982 (laptop & PC)
The gain control works fine in v3.1.5220 (laptop) & an earlier 3.1.5143 version on my PC.
QHY driver is QHY5iiiSeriesDriver190327win10, on both setups & both are running under win10 64b

Log attached.
Any help appreciated.
Al the best
Martin
Attachments
Log_2019-04-13T12_52_47-15472.log
(100.81 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2512
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: QHY5iii 174M Gain control not working in v3.2

Post by admin » Sat Apr 13, 2019 9:35 pm

Hi,

Thanks for the bug report – it looks like the latest qhy SDK is giving an error when trying to set the gain on that camera (fortunately I have a camera of the same model to test with). It seems that the adjustment the gain is actually applied regardless of the fact that an error is generated – that means that the image brighten or dims but some internal bookkeeping in SharpCap doesn't happen meaning that the slider doesn't move correctly.

I have made some tweaks to the code so that the bookkeeping happens regardless of the error and everything now seems to work correctly. Please try the very latest version from the downloads page (3.2 .5986)

Cheers, Robin

martin3034baker
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2019 2:21 pm

Re: QHY5iii 174M Gain control not working in v3.2

Post by martin3034baker » Mon Apr 15, 2019 9:51 am

Thanks Robin,
I'll give it a go, & let you know.

Cheers

martin3034baker
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2019 2:21 pm

Re: QHY5iii 174M Gain control not working in v3.2

Post by martin3034baker » Mon Apr 15, 2019 1:32 pm

Hi again Robin,

That's fixed it thanks very much.

And thanks for your effort & support.

All the best

Martin

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: elken2004 and 1 guest