Live stack display in monochrome

Discussions of Electronically Assisted Astronomy using the Live Stacking feature.
Post Reply
descott12
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 2:32 am
Location: Charlotte, NC USA

Live stack display in monochrome

Post by descott12 » Mon Dec 17, 2018 2:40 am

Hello,
I was just experimenting with SharpCap Pro 3.2 on Windows 10. I am using a ASI 294MC Pro on an Evo 8 with a new Hyperstar. Everything seems to be working pretty well but I have a big problem that I am hoping are just various settings.

Specifically, the Live Stack view is only in shades of grey. I can adjust the histogram RGB sliders but those just add a tint of RGB to the entire picture. I am using RGB24 mode.

Any ideas?
Thanks in advance.

BlackWikkett
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 8:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Live stack display in monochrome

Post by BlackWikkett » Mon Dec 17, 2018 3:31 pm

Hi,

Try changing to RAW16 color space in camera controls.

-WIkkett

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2404
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Live stack display in monochrome

Post by admin » Mon Dec 17, 2018 6:52 pm

Hi,

yes, using the RAW16 colour space is definitely better than using RGB 24 if you are taking exposures of more than a few seconds. Colour in astronomical objects can be fairly subtle and faint, so is not unusual for it looked almost monochrome initially. You can also try using the saturation control to pull out any colour that is present. If none of this helps them do share a screenshot showing the problem back to this thread as that will give more info for us to work on.

Cheers, Robin

descott12
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 2:32 am
Location: Charlotte, NC USA

Re: Live stack display in monochrome

Post by descott12 » Wed Dec 19, 2018 3:32 am

Hi Robin,
I tried the raw modes and it didn't seem to help.
Screen2.png is a typical appearance with the LiveStack in monochrome.
I noticed that if I go the Histogram icon (Screen4.png) in the tool bar it will switch out of Live Stack mode but the display will be in color although the colors look awful and muddy.

I also noticed that I could sometimes get some color in live stack mode if I slid all the color sliders way up equally but I think this is not real color and I am just forcing it.

Thanks for your help.
Attachments
Screen4.png
Screen4.png (585.87 KiB) Viewed 296 times
Screen2.png
Screen2.png (200.47 KiB) Viewed 296 times

BlackWikkett
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 8:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Live stack display in monochrome

Post by BlackWikkett » Wed Dec 19, 2018 4:17 am

Hi,

Your live stack saturation slider is too low, increase it to add more color. See image below.
Hope this helps.
-Wikkett
ImageSC Saturation by Black Wikkett, on Flickr

descott12
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 2:32 am
Location: Charlotte, NC USA

Re: Live stack display in monochrome

Post by descott12 » Wed Dec 19, 2018 12:26 pm

Thank you wicket! I was hoping it was something simple like that.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests