Ascom driver for Nikon & Canon cameras

Got an idea for something that SharpCap should do? Share it here.
Forum rules
'+1' posts are welcome in this area of the forums to indicate your support for a particular feature suggestion. Suggestions that get the most +1's will be seriously considered for inclusion in future versions of SharpCap.
robrj
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 1:03 am

Ascom driver for Nikon & Canon cameras

Post by robrj » Thu Jul 19, 2018 3:28 am

There's a user on Cloudynights who posted his opensource ASCOM project for Nikon and Canon DSLRs:
https://www.cloudynights.com/topic/6255 ... non-nikon/

cuivenion
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 7:37 pm

Re: Ascom driver for Nikon & Canon cameras

Post by cuivenion » Thu Jul 19, 2018 5:18 am

Tried it, had a crash with report straight off when I tried to change the ASCOM parameters in Sharpcap. It also hangs on the capture dialog. Nice idea though, and it is only in alpha.

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2010
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Ascom driver for Nikon & Canon cameras

Post by admin » Thu Jul 19, 2018 5:56 am

Ah, that's interesting. I have a canon camera or two, so may have a play. Thanks for the heads up.

cheers,

Robin

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2010
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Ascom driver for Nikon & Canon cameras

Post by admin » Thu Jul 19, 2018 9:56 pm

Didn't get time to try this out myself today, but did see the uploaded bug reports from your testing.

Looks like the camera driver is somehow marking itself as being disconnected after SharpCap has connected to it. The bug reports were all 'Not Connected' problems and they were all happening in parts of the SharpCap code that can only be reached when the ASCOM camera is successfully connected, so I am assuming that the driver either says it connects successfully but doesn't or it disconnects itself somehow without being asked.

I will debug the problem more thoroughly over the weekend.

cheers,

Robin

Aussie Greg
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 7:22 am

Re: Ascom driver for Nikon & Canon cameras

Post by Aussie Greg » Sun Aug 12, 2018 7:32 am

Any further updates on this one?
I am trying to connect my D7100 Nikon DSLR
Thanks all

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2010
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Ascom driver for Nikon & Canon cameras

Post by admin » Tue Aug 14, 2018 3:19 pm

Hi,

I found the driver to only work intermittently for my Canon camera. I suspect this may be the result of SharpCap running exposures in very quick succession which the driver/camera may not be expecting. I do plan to test further when I have some more time.

cheers,

Robin

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2010
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Ascom driver for Nikon & Canon cameras

Post by admin » Sun Aug 19, 2018 9:34 pm

Just an update to say that I have been working on making SharpCap work better with this driver (and working on making some changes to the driver to make it more robust, faster, etc).

With my own tweaked version of the driver (code available from https://github.com/rwg0/ASCOM.DSLR) I can now get pretty good results with the latest SharpCap 3.2 beta build (3.2.5708) when using a Canon camera in non-live mode. I have been sending my code tweaks to the original author of the driver - hopefully he will include them.

cheers,

Robin

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2010
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Ascom driver for Nikon & Canon cameras

Post by admin » Mon Aug 20, 2018 8:51 pm

For those that are interested I have uploaded an installer for my tweaked version of the DSLR ASCOM driver - this should work with Canon DSLRs, no idea about others as I have none to test with.

http://downloads.sharpcap.co.uk/downloa ... m%20Driver

This is very much 'without warranty' - if it works, great. If it breaks then you get to keep both halves...

My steps for making it work:

* Install the DSLR driver
* Install the latest SharpCap Beta
* Connect the camera via USB, put it in manual focus and M mode and turn it on
* Run SharpCap and select the ASCOM DSLR driver
* The camera will take 2-3 images while the driver queries various info about the device and saves it. This will happen *before* the controls show in SharpCap
* SharpCap may crash at this point - don't worry, it will (hopefully) only happen once, just restart SharpCap
* After the first few setup exposures, the camera should work correctly. You should be able to change exposure and gain (ISO). Note that the ISO used will be the closest value your camera supports - not necessarily the value shown.

cheers,

Robin

galljj
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 10:14 pm

Re: Ascom driver for Nikon & Canon cameras

Post by galljj » Tue Aug 21, 2018 1:57 am

Robin

quite good. I got it to work - one crash report was created and i sent along - but after that, no issue. I have a Canon T1i.


One point - my saved images are coming up in greyscale, although the "live" image in SC is in color. What to do ?
16 bit raw images, saved as .png

j

galljj
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 10:14 pm

Re: Ascom driver for Nikon & Canon cameras

Post by galljj » Tue Aug 21, 2018 2:14 am

FYI I could create a color image by demosaicing in fitswork4

j

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests