Flats

Discussions of Electronically Assisted Astronomy using the Live Stacking feature.
festoon
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2019 9:52 am

Re: Flats

Post by festoon » Wed Feb 06, 2019 8:45 pm

Thanks for the explanation regards the 11 captures...sorry for the red herring :)
Have you managed to deduct what is happening with my flats in Sharpcap?
Thanks again for your help

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2868
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Flats

Post by admin » Thu Feb 07, 2019 7:14 pm

Hi,

I suspect that the diagonal line that you see in the created flat image is somehow caused by the fact that the width of the camera frame is an odd number of pixels. This was something that caused a lot more problems in SharpCap in the past and I thought I fixed pre-match all of them but I think this is probably a remaining issue.

I've tried loading your raw image into the Ascom simulator camera and setting the frame dimensions to 1391 x 1039 but I don't see the problem even then. Can you let me know what settings you used in the capture flat dialogue as I wonder if those have an effect.

Thanks, Robin

festoon
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2019 9:52 am

Re: Flats

Post by festoon » Thu Feb 07, 2019 9:21 pm

Thanks for looking at this Robin,
Do you mean these settings?
setupflat_1.PNG
setupflat_1.PNG (344.74 KiB) Viewed 304 times
Creating mono flat and not using bias frame. Histogram looks OK.
I wonder if too if this is an issue of the odd pixels combined with the fact its a colour sensor?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests