No alignment found!

Discussions of Electronically Assisted Astronomy using the Live Stacking feature.
User avatar
turfpit
Posts: 488
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: No alignment found!

Post by turfpit » Sun Oct 07, 2018 11:34 am

Remy

Celestron C8 meets Atik 314E for the first time. Plenty to work on here, probably needs the f6.3 reducer. I used SharpCap 3.2.5781.0 and managed to get stacking working. The parameters I had to adjust are highlighted (see Robin's note as well). Not an APOD but was busy wrestling with Ha imaging settings on my main rig.

Dave
Attachments
live-stack-settings.zip
(335.46 KiB) Downloaded 15 times

remyastro
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 4:54 pm
Location: Gresse en Vercors (France)

Re: No alignment found!

Post by remyastro » Mon Oct 08, 2018 9:01 pm

Hi Robin,

Bingo!
I have used sharpcap 3.2 to imagine M57 to night and it works, alignments were found and I could stack the frames.
Please see attached the results.

I have just a question: why does the saved as seen image still show the detected stars boxes?

Thank you again for your help.
Cheers
Remy
20181008.pdf
Screen shots
(426.89 KiB) Downloaded 19 times
The attachment 20181008.pdf is no longer available

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2088
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: No alignment found!

Post by admin » Mon Oct 08, 2018 9:23 pm

Hi Remy,

good to hear that it works now. The saving of star boxes is either a little bug. The button is labelled 'save exactly as seen', so I could almost argue that it is by design, but of course no-one really wants star boxes on their saved images...

That type of save is handled just before the image gets displayed to ensure it matches the image as seen on screen, by which point things like the boxes have already been drawn on top of the image. I will log it as a bug, but since there is an easy workaround it won't be a priority to fix for now.

thanks,

Robin

remyastro
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 4:54 pm
Location: Gresse en Vercors (France)

Re: No alignment found!

Post by remyastro » Tue Oct 09, 2018 5:28 am

Hi Robin,

I used sharpcap 3.2 this morning to imagine M42 and it worked well also.
I only need to improve focussing now!

See picture.

Cheers.
Remy
Stack_50frames_906s.png
M42
Stack_50frames_906s.png (207.95 KiB) Viewed 215 times

User avatar
turfpit
Posts: 488
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: No alignment found!

Post by turfpit » Tue Oct 09, 2018 7:46 am

Remy

Buy a Bahtinov Mask and then do this viewtopic.php?f=18&t=1151.

Pinpoint focusing in seconds. Best £20 investment you will ever make in this money pit of a hobby.

Dave

remyastro
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 4:54 pm
Location: Gresse en Vercors (France)

Re: No alignment found!

Post by remyastro » Sat Oct 13, 2018 7:54 am

Hi Dave,

Thank you for your advice . I think that I'll buy a bahtinov mask asap.

I have retried M27 using Sharpcap focusing tool last night.
As you can see below, I got better results than with previous M42, because I think I had mist on my camera window pane that former night.

Sharcap app is working very well!

Cheers.
Remy
M27_Stack_5frames_678s.png
M27_Stack_5frames_678s.png (587.92 KiB) Viewed 192 times

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2088
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: No alignment found!

Post by admin » Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:42 pm

Nice!

looking forward to seeing more of your images!

Robin

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests