Capturing Flats in Sequence and dark flats

Discussions, Bug Reports and Issues related to Beta versions of SharpCap
Post Reply
lowenthalm
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon May 07, 2018 12:27 am

Capturing Flats in Sequence and dark flats

#1

Post by lowenthalm »

I noticed recently that there is a sequence step for capturing flats with bias frames, but none for capturing flats with dark flats, which I find works much better. Would this something that could be added in? I see the can of worms involving selecting filters or asking to cover the scope and so on, but hopefully there is some way.

In addition, it would really be handy if a bell would ding when the "Cover scope" and "Uncover scope" messages come up. I have to set a timer on my phone to make sure I know when to get back and check if the computer has put up one if these messages if I have stepped away.
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13888
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Capturing Flats in Sequence and dark flats

#2

Post by admin »

OK, makes sense...

I will put the option on the TODO list - adding new options to existing steps takes a bit more thought than adding new steps, since I have to be careful not to break existing sequences with the change to add an option, but adding a whole new step *can't* break existing sequences...

The beep is easy - all I need to do is tell it to put the exclamation icon on the message boxes and the sound happens automatically :)

cheers,

Robin
lowenthalm
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon May 07, 2018 12:27 am

Re: Capturing Flats in Sequence and dark flats

#3

Post by lowenthalm »

admin wrote: Mon Sep 11, 2023 1:51 pm
The beep is easy - all I need to do is tell it to put the exclamation icon on the message boxes and the sound happens automatically :)
This worked for a good while, but rather mysteriously has stopped working in the version I have been using for about a month. Its completely silent, when the exclam dialogs pop up. Puzzling.
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13888
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Capturing Flats in Sequence and dark flats

#4

Post by admin »

Ah, no, not puzzling actually...

I made a change to have a dark theme message box if the application is in dark theme. Unfortunately changing the system message box is hard, so I made my own window that acts and looks like a message box. Except I forgot to add the beep!

Thanks for letting me know - I will fix that one :)

cheers,

Robin
Post Reply