SharpCap .tif files do no open in Sequator

Somewhere to share your expertise in using SharpCap
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9137
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: SharpCap .tif files do no open in Sequator

#11

Post by admin »

Hi,

Okay, good news - I managed to recover nearly complete images from both of the 'broken' TIFF files you shared. The file was truncated, in fact in both cases it seems to be truncated after about 90-95% of the image data. I don't understand how this would happen. Did you have the option to save FITS headers in the TIFF description turned on? That re-opens the TIFF and updates the headers, so I suppose that could go wrong maybe.

Anyway, I have made a tool that will recover the image data for you

Download : https://downloads.sharpcap.co.uk/tools/TiffRescue.zip
Source Code : https://github.com/rwg0/tiffrescue

To use it, unzip and run it from a command prompt like this

Code: Select all

TiffRescue.exe WIDTHxHEIGHT broken_file.tif
In your case, the width and height are 4944 and 3284, so

Code: Select all

TiffRescue.exe 4944x3284 path\to\file\capture_00027.tif
The fixed TIF file will be saved in the same folder with the name '.fixed.tif' rather than just '.tif'

You will notice that the fixed files have a black stripe at the bottom - this is the part for which the image data is broken/missing.

Hope this helps,

Robin
fgbarr
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2022 2:21 pm

Re: SharpCap .tif files do no open in Sequator

#12

Post by fgbarr »

Hi Robin!

It is a bit complex for me. I'm happy to know the image date is there. Hope it is possible to recover.

Thanks again for your help.

Francisco
fgbarr
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2022 2:21 pm

Re: SharpCap .tif files do no open in Sequator

#13

Post by fgbarr »

Sorry, I did not see your last post. I will try the procedure.
fgbarr
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2022 2:21 pm

Re: SharpCap .tif files do no open in Sequator

#14

Post by fgbarr »

Hi Robin!

D:\Sharpcap Captures\2021-07-09\Capture\18_43_57>TiffRescue.exe 4944x3284 capture_00001.tif
Reading from D:\Sharpcap Captures\2021-07-09\Capture\18_43_57\capture_00001.tif as 4944x3284x16 bits per pixel
ZIPDecode: : Decoding error at scanline 0, unknown compression method
Failed to decode row 2849, going to write out the data we have.

This error appears, but the image is there, just a bit small. Now it is possible to read it using Sharpcap to convert to fits or in DSS.

I just want to know if this is a normal error.

Thanks,

Francisco
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9137
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: SharpCap .tif files do no open in Sequator

#15

Post by admin »

Hi Francisco,

yes, the error is normal - basically the program is reporting that it has run out of image data to recover, so your recovered image will only have 2848 rows of valid data and the last 300-400 rows will be black. This is a result of the image files being truncated for some reason.

cheers,

Robin
fgbarr
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2022 2:21 pm

Re: SharpCap .tif files do no open in Sequator

#16

Post by fgbarr »

Hi Robin!

I couldn't be happier than I am with your support, dedication and commitment to solving my problem in recover these images I got from a dark site that I rarely have access to. I just have to thank you and I'm even happier with the choice to use Sharpcap Pro knowing that I will have support if I need it.

I'm Brazilian and I hope I was able to show my thanks with my poor english, with a little help from google translator.

Thank you very much

Francisco
Post Reply