Sensor Analysis interpretation - Orion Starshoot G16 (same as Touptek ATR3-16000-KPA) - Need Help!

jasonjeremiah
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2021 12:54 pm

Re: Sensor Analysis interpretation - Orion Starshoot G16 (same as Touptek ATR3-16000-KPA) - Need Help!

#11

Post by jasonjeremiah »

Just to be clear, the sensor analysis has already been done. My question is about utilizing the Smart Histogram. So, you're saying the Smart Histogram recommendations should take no longer that 5 minutes?

One more question, will Sharpcap automatically upscale 12bit data to 16bit format? I ask because I have about 9 hours of Horsehead data that's now wasted because the files were being saved in a 16 bit "container" but the data itself was not being upscaled to match the 16bit format. So, I now have several FITS files with 16bit headers (which can't be modified) but only contain data that translates to 4095 ADU. Thanks!
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8144
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Sensor Analysis interpretation - Orion Starshoot G16 (same as Touptek ATR3-16000-KPA) - Need Help!

#12

Post by admin »

Hi,

ah, sorry, the sky brightness measurement rather than the analysis. There were some cases where that was taking a long time to complete, so I made some improvements very recently - these are in version 4.0.8564, so you may not have them yet if you have not updated recently.

SharpCap will scale up 12 bit data to 16, providing that the ASCOM driver properly reports the maximum pixel value as 4095. If the ASCOM driver reports a maximum pixel value of 65535 (16 bit) then SharpCap will believe it and save the image without scaling up the brightness.

You can probably fix any frames that have been captured with 0..4095 range by running them through PIPP with an input gain of 16 and then saving the result back to FITS in a different folder.

cheers,

Robin
jasonjeremiah
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2021 12:54 pm

Re: Sensor Analysis interpretation - Orion Starshoot G16 (same as Touptek ATR3-16000-KPA) - Need Help!

#13

Post by jasonjeremiah »

Maybe updating will help. I'm using a fairly recent version (4.0.8509.0). Not sure what's going on but SharpCap doesn't seem to play nice with this camera. When I open the smart histogram, the screen looks different from what I see with others. Most noticeably, I have an option to measure R, B, G, or darkest? I do not see this when watching other tutorials on using the smart histogram. There's merely a "measure" button. Anyway, log file is attached. Looks like my only resort is to learn how to use NINA as it provides native support and until Sharpcap does so, it's a no go with this camera.
Attachments
Log_2022-01-14T19_27_33-23744.log
(75.6 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8144
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Sensor Analysis interpretation - Orion Starshoot G16 (same as Touptek ATR3-16000-KPA) - Need Help!

#14

Post by admin »

Hi,

thanks for sharing the log - what is happening there is that the images are not coming from the ASCOM driver as requested. Some images seem to have worked and then SharpCap requests another image and the camera goes back to the idle state without delivering the image. The cause of that isn't clear, but about 20 seconds later the camera starts giving errors when the temperature is requested, so maybe it is a communications failure.

cheers,

Robin
Post Reply