Sharpcap and AVX extensions

Somewhere to ask questions about the best way to use SharpCap
Forum rules


If you have a problem or question, please check the FAQ to see if it already has an answer : https://www.sharpcap.co.uk/sharpcap-faqs
Post Reply
Broz
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2021 2:12 pm

Sharpcap and AVX extensions

Post by Broz »

Well I ordered a Minisforums GK50 (5030 processor) to run Sharpcap and NINA but that was before reading about the lack of AVX extensions. I use Sharpcap 4.0, so is this going to be a problem? Thanks,

Broz22
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7373
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Sharpcap and AVX extensions

Post by admin »

Hi,

currently you should be OK with the 32 bit version of SharpCap (including SC 4.0) - it's the 64 bit version that has problems on machines that do not support AVX.

cheers,

Robin
Broz
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2021 2:12 pm

Re: Sharpcap and AVX extensions

Post by Broz »

Thanks robin, I'll switch to the 32 bit version. Do you have any way forward for the 64 bit version in the future?
John
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7373
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Sharpcap and AVX extensions

Post by admin »

Hi John,

I think the only way is to ship two versions of the problem piece of code - it's in my TODO list, but will take a bit of time to make it to the top.

thanks,

Robin
Post Reply