Sharpcap not finding my plate solver?

Discussion of using SharpCap for Deep Sky Imaging
Monika

Sharpcap not finding my plate solver?

Post by Monika »

Hi there, I am brand new to astrophotography. For plate solving, I downloaded Astrotortilla. Astrotortilla recommended I download plate solver from this site: http://adgsoftware.com/ansvr/ I followed the instructions on this site and the index files all downloaded to my desktop, I can see them there.

When I go to SC > File > SC settings > Plate solve, it selects astrotortilla as preferred plate solver which is right. But in the "Path to plate solve tool" section, when "detect automatically" is selected, it says "none found". I then went to "Browse" under "enter manually." Then I took the path: C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Local\cygwin_ansvr (as instructed on the above website)- this lead me to several folders (see Plate Solver Browse screen shot), and im not sure what to click from here.

The plate solver configuration Status section doesn't show anything detected (see Plate Solver Configuration screen shot)

I think during some confusion a couple weeks ago I downloaded the Ansvr Set up.exe twice (see ansvr setup screen shot), could that have anything to do with it?

What am I missing to allow sharp cap to detect my plate solver?

Thank you!
Attachments
ansvr setup.png
ansvr setup.png (459.78 KiB) Viewed 2130 times
Plate solve configuration.png
Plate solve configuration.png (289.18 KiB) Viewed 2130 times
Plate Solver Browse.png
Plate Solver Browse.png (434.53 KiB) Viewed 2130 times
Menno555

Re: Sharpcap not finding my plate solver?

Post by Menno555 »

Hi Monika

I don't know that plate solver myself but most likely you have to point SharpCap to C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Local\cygwin_ansvr\bin\
I use ASPS myself and there it is in ..\bin\ so I assume that it is also there in your case.

Menno
admin
Site Admin

Post by admin »

Hi,