white balance using a gray-card

Discussion of using SharpCap for Deep Sky Imaging
psy1280

white balance using a gray-card

Post by psy1280 »

I recently used a gray-card to get a reading for my red and blue white balance while using a L-pro LP filter. The readings I got from the gray-card, using the L-pro, were: Red 78; Blue 60. I read on one of the threads discussing the ASI294 where Robin suggested using 50-50 for the white balance in order to take darks. I want to make a dark library, should I use my gray-card readings or 50-50? I know the ASI294 is quite finicky (to say the least) when it comes to vignetting.

Joe
Menno555

Re: white balance using a gray-card

Post by Menno555 »

Hi Joe

I have no experience with a gray-card but when I had the ASI294MC Pro, the R50 B50 white balance setting gave good darks.
It did also work fine with taking lights, flats and darkflats, but I used that because I do stack and process my captures afterwards.

Menno
psy1280

Post by psy1280 »

Much thanks Menno. Since you've worked with the 294, did you have a solution for the vignetting that I, and others, have with flats? If so, would love to hear about your flat protocol.

Joe
admin
Site Admin

Post by admin »

Hi,

you can use whatever settings you like - some prefer to work with 50/50 neutral settings, others with balanced settings.

What you *must* do is use the same settings for lights and darks. If you don't do this your darks will not subtract correctly.

thanks,

Robin
Menno555

Post by Menno555 »

Ah yes, that.
My experience was that the general "rule" of making flats for the 294 with around 25000 ADU works fine as long as you do not have your light source too bright. Also, in contradiction to what in general is said, only changing the exposure time. So making flats and darkflats with the same gain, white balance and brightness/offset settings as your lights. With all that, the vignetting was really reduced.