ZWO294 MC Pro best gain

Discussion of using SharpCap for Deep Sky Imaging
psy1280

ZWO294 MC Pro best gain

Post by psy1280 »

I'm new to EAA and recently purchased a ZWO294 MC Pro. Can anyone tell me the best gain setting for this camera. I only image EAA and was told that every camera has a sort of "sweet spot" regarding gain.

Thank you,
Joe
admin
Site Admin

Re: ZWO294 MC Pro best gain

Post by admin »

Hi,

gain 120 is a good starting point – that's where the camera switches from low conversion gain to high conversion gain which means the read noise drops dramatically from gain 120 upwards.

The SharpCap pro smart histogram feature will help you with more detailed suggestions

Cheers, Robin
umasscrew39

Post by umasscrew39 »

Most definitely run the Smart Histogram as Robin suggests. I did find that a 200 gain and 10 brightness was my sweet spot for EAA with the 294 in my Bortle 6 sky. You will enjoy this camera as it produces excellent color live views.
BlackWikkett

Post by BlackWikkett »

Hi

For live stacking using ASI294 I've found that 300 gain works very well for my Bortle 5/6 skies. I usually image at 30 sec 10 brightness 300 gain with darks / flats and cooler at -10. This is on an RC6 reduced to 1030 mm FL. Lose a step or 2 of dynamic range and gain a slight bit of noise over lower gain and longer exposure. All can be cleaned up with a few minutes in PS. You can find many examples I've shared in the Gallery.

Edit: forgot to mention using IDAS D1 filter

-Chris
Last edited by BlackWikkett on Thu Jun 25, 2020 8:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
donstim

Post by donstim »

Hi Joe,