SC 3.0 Automatic Flats use in imaging?

Discussion of using SharpCap for Deep Sky Imaging
Post Reply
SimmoW
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 11:19 am

SC 3.0 Automatic Flats use in imaging?

Post by SimmoW » Thu May 11, 2017 11:23 am

HI, I raised this question on the SC facebook page but don't recall seeing an answer - Can someone explain the new flats functionality, whether this could be effectively used to collect flats during an imaging run? Wishful thinking I know, but like the PA routine, this could be revolutionary!

Thanks

Simon

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 451
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: SC 3.0 Automatic Flats use in imaging?

Post by admin » Thu May 11, 2017 6:10 pm

Hi SImon,

sorry - sometimes things seem to slip past on the facebook page without showing in the recent posts list. Anyway, best to ask here as everyone will be able to find the answer for future reference.

The best place to start with flats is the 'Capture Flat' option in the Capture menu - this guides you through capturing a master flat by averaging multiple individual flat frames. All you need to do is arrange for flat illumination and adjust the brightness. Once you press 'Start' the flat frames will be captured and averaged and then the new flat frame will automatically be selected and you are all set.

cheers,

Robin

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest