sequence generator pro + sharpcap?

Discussion of using SharpCap for Deep Sky Imaging
Post Reply
psy1280
Posts: 154
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 4:52 pm

sequence generator pro + sharpcap?

Post by psy1280 »

I'm just breaking into AP from EAA. A big problem is I don't have the stamina to stay awake into the wee hours of the night collecting data. I just found out about Sequence Generator Pro and since it would allow me to get a good night sleep (shutting down the program at a designated time and perhaps doing some periodic re-focusing (?)) I'd love to know if it's at all possible to use SGP with Sharpcap Live Stacking (I do love Sharpcap and wouldn't want to abandon it).

Much thanks,
Joe
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6646
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: sequence generator pro + sharpcap?

Post by admin »

Hi,

I suppose you could capture images in SGP and then feed them to SharpCap using the folder monitor camera - or you could have SharpCap's folder monitor camera watch the SGP output folder and stack each new image that arrives.

Alternatively, SharpCap 4.0 has sequencing features :

viewtopic.php?t=3620
viewtopic.php?f=38&t=3109
https://www.sharpcap.co.uk/sharpcap/sha ... s/4-0-beta

cheers,

Robin
psy1280
Posts: 154
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 4:52 pm

Re: sequence generator pro + sharpcap?

Post by psy1280 »

Thank you Robin, I'll need to digest the attachments you sent about SharpCap's VERY EXCITING sequencer component. Right now this is a bit too complex for my level of understanding, so, in the meantime, would you mind one basic question, will the Sharpcap sequencer be able to start and stop an imagining session allowing me to image into the night without needing to shut things down?

I'm hoping this will be the case!

Yours,
Joe
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6646
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: sequence generator pro + sharpcap?

Post by admin »

Hi Joe,

not quite sure what you mean by 'start and stop' in this context. You can certainly schedule an imaging session to begin at some later point in time if that is what you are looking for, and also schedule close down actions (like parking the telescope).

cheers,

Robin
psy1280
Posts: 154
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 4:52 pm

Re: sequence generator pro + sharpcap?

Post by psy1280 »

Thanks for the encouraging news Robin,

Yes, that's exactly what I was looking for, a place to set a 'start' time to begin imaging and a 'close down' (parking the scope) to end the imaging session. Wow! Sharpcap's evolution is amazing. So glad to have been a long time user.
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6646
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: sequence generator pro + sharpcap?

Post by admin »

Hi,

so to give an example, you can set up an imaging plan using the sequence planner (https://docs.sharpcap.co.uk/4.0/#!2!Dee ... %20Planner) - this does not allow you to set the start time, but that can be fixed by transferring the imaging plan into the advanced sequence editor (https://docs.sharpcap.co.uk/4.0/#Saving ... %20Editing) and then adding a 'wait until' step at the start (https://docs.sharpcap.co.uk/4.0/#Misc.)

cheers,

Robin
Post Reply