Black screen after update to 3.1

A place to report problems and bugs in SharpCap
Forum rules
Please read about Troubleshooting USB Issues before posting.

*** Please do not post license keys - please report any problems with licensing to 'admin' by PM ***

Please include the following details in any bug report:

* Version of SharpCap
* Camera and other hardware being user
* Operating system version
* Contents of the SharpCap log after the problem has occurred.
[If SharpCap crashes, please send the bug report when prompted instead of including the log]
Post Reply
cruxaustralis
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 25, 2018 6:08 pm

Black screen after update to 3.1

Post by cruxaustralis » Fri May 25, 2018 7:26 pm

SC 3.1 ,latest update
ZWO ASI 185, HP WIN 10
I have been using SC 3.0 successfully for more than a year. After the update to SC 3.1 the camera only shows a black screen. The camera is detected but no signal whatsoever. I checked the USB and drivers ( 1.0 ), tried different USB ports, a different cable, latest drivers for the camera, nothing gives me the desired result, the screen remains black. I tried to go back to 3.0 but doesn't work either. What else can I try?

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2014
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Black screen after update to 3.1

Post by admin » Fri May 25, 2018 8:42 pm

Hi,

is the frame count ticking up in the bottom left corner? If not then check the 'turbo USB' setting and turn it down to see if that helps. Also check that the exposure hasn't somehow got set to a silly long value like 10 minutes (seen that happen before with someone not noticing).

Installing Sharpcap 3.1 does not affect (or uninstall) SharpCap 3.0, so it's incredibly unlikely that the install of 3.1 would break a working 3.0 installation, so maybe something else has changed that we haven't worked out yet. Another thing to check is to use the camera (on the same machine) with some different software. If the other software fails then the bug is hardware/connection/driver. If the other software works then the bug is a SharpCap problem.

cheers,

Robin

cruxaustralis
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 25, 2018 6:08 pm

Re: Black screen after update to 3.1

Post by cruxaustralis » Mon May 28, 2018 6:53 pm

Hi Robin,
thank you for your quick answer. Nothing worked so far to solve the issue. Right now I found the tool "sensor analysis" - it doesn't even show the "start" button so I think the sensor of the ZWO is dead. The tool works perfectly with my Lodestar which I connected just to see if there is any input from a camera. So it will be a new camera and SC Pro..... Thanks for your help !

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2014
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Black screen after update to 3.1

Post by admin » Mon May 28, 2018 8:09 pm

No luck with other applications like APT or FireCapture or ASICAP then? If none of those work then I would strongly suggest trying a different computer if at all possible just to see if that helps.

cheers,

Robin

User avatar
turfpit
Posts: 444
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Black screen after update to 3.1

Post by turfpit » Mon May 28, 2018 8:48 pm

Might be worth applying the driver v3.0.0.4 - nothing to lose.

https://astronomy-imaging-camera.com/software-drivers

Dave

cruxaustralis
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 25, 2018 6:08 pm

Re: Black screen after update to 3.1

Post by cruxaustralis » Tue May 29, 2018 12:44 pm

Thank you all for your suggestions - I did all that before posting in the forum. I just hate the thought that the sensor should be dead after such a short time. But if the tool "sensor analysis" doesn't find a sensor on the camera this is the most probable reason.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest