Can't auto update

A place to report problems and bugs in SharpCap
Forum rules
Please read about Troubleshooting USB Issues before posting.

*** Please do not post license keys - please report any problems with licensing to 'admin' by PM ***

Please include the following details in any bug report:

* Version of SharpCap
* Camera and other hardware being user
* Operating system version
* Contents of the SharpCap log after the problem has occurred.
[If SharpCap crashes, please send the bug report when prompted instead of including the log]
Post Reply
Oshimitsu
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 6:56 am

Can't auto update

Post by Oshimitsu » Thu Apr 19, 2018 8:33 pm

For the longest time I haven't been able to auto update. It will download and close the program as if to update but never re-open. When i manually open sharpcap again it's still on the same version. I assumed it was a problem with a file associated to sharpcap so I deleted every file I could find that was connected to it. Any idea what the problem is? Also I've tried running in admin as well

Thanks
Jonathan

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2142
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Can't auto update

Post by admin » Fri Apr 20, 2018 7:06 pm

Hi,

can you confirm which version you are trying to update *from*, which version of windows you are using and post any log files you find in the temp directory (c:\users\<username>\AppData\Local\Temp) that correspond to the failed upgrade - the best trick for this is to delete everything you can in the temp directory, then try to run the upgrade again, then see what log files are created - they will have names starting with 'SharpCap'

cheers,

Robin

Oshimitsu
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 6:56 am

Re: Can't auto update

Post by Oshimitsu » Tue Apr 24, 2018 12:32 pm

Running windows 10, updating from 3.1.5142 - .5143 but this has happened with every update I've tried in I can't remember how long. Once I click install and relaunch sharpcap closes and nothing happens.

Heres the log after trying to just update

Info: 08:26:22.5528674 Thread:LogInfo Thread#8 SharpCap.LogSystemInfo.ThreadProc() :: SharpCap Version 3.1.5142.0
Info: 08:26:22.5528674 Thread:LogInfo Thread#8 SharpCap.LogSystemInfo.ThreadProc() :: GC Memory 116Mb
Info: 08:26:22.5528674 Thread:LogInfo Thread#8 SharpCap.LogSystemInfo.ThreadProc() :: Process Memory 148Mb
Info: 08:26:22.5528674 Thread:LogInfo Thread#8 SharpCap.LogSystemInfo.ThreadProc() :: Total Physical Memory 3964Mb
Info: 08:26:22.5528674 Thread:LogInfo Thread#8 SharpCap.LogSystemInfo.ThreadProc() :: Available Physical Memory 1023Mb
Info: 08:26:22.5528674 Thread:LogInfo Thread#8 SharpCap.LogSystemInfo.ThreadProc() :: Operating System : Microsoft Windows NT 6.2.9200.0
Debug: 08:26:22.6062751 Thread:#1 SharpCap.UI.SharpCapForm..ctor() :: Started
Info: 08:26:22.6531544 Thread:#1 SharpCap.MultiCaptureProvider.AddProvider() :: Added device enumerator of type BaslerDeviceEnumerator
Info: 08:26:22.6531544 Thread:#1 SharpCap.MultiCaptureProvider.AddProvider() :: Added device enumerator of type QHYDeviceEnumerator
Info: 08:26:22.6531544 Thread:#1 SharpCap.MultiCaptureProvider.AddProvider() :: Added device enumerator of type ASIDeviceEnumerator
Info: 08:26:22.6531544 Thread:#1 SharpCap.MultiCaptureProvider.AddProvider() :: Added device enumerator of type AltairDeviceEnumerator
Warning: 08:26:22.6687810 Thread:#1 SharpCap.MultiCaptureProvider.AddProvider() :: Could not load capture provider - SharpCap.Cameras.PointGrey.PointGreyDeviceEnumerator - System.Reflection.TargetInvocationException: Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation. ---> System.IO.FileNotFoundException: Could not load file or assembly 'FlyCapture2Managed_v140.dll' or one of its dependencies. The specified module could not be found.
at SharpCap.Cameras.PointGrey.PointGreyDeviceEnumerator..ctor()
--- End of inner exception stack trace ---
at System.RuntimeTypeHandle.CreateInstance(RuntimeType type, Boolean publicOnly, Boolean noCheck, Boolean& canBeCached, RuntimeMethodHandleInternal& ctor, Boolean& bNeedSecurityCheck)
at System.RuntimeType.CreateInstanceSlow(Boolean publicOnly, Boolean skipCheckThis, Boolean fillCache, StackCrawlMark& stackMark)
at System.RuntimeType.CreateInstanceDefaultCtor(Boolean publicOnly, Boolean skipCheckThis, Boolean fillCache, StackCrawlMark& stackMark)
at System.Activator.CreateInstance[T]()
at SharpCap.MultiCaptureProvider.AddProvider[T]() in C:\Documents\Source Code\SharpCap3.1\src\SharpCap\Models\MultiCaptureProvider.cs:line 509
Info: 08:26:22.6687810 Thread:#1 SharpCap.MultiCaptureProvider.AddProvider() :: Added device enumerator of type SxDeviceEnumerator
Info: 08:26:22.6909280 Thread:#1 SharpCap.MultiCaptureProvider.AddProvider() :: Added device enumerator of type DS3DeviceEnumerator
Info: 08:26:22.6909280 Thread:#1 SharpCap.MultiCaptureProvider.AddProvider() :: Added device enumerator of type AscomDeviceEnumerator
Info: 08:26:23.4084699 Thread:#1 SharpCap.Base.Utilities.Logger.LogStackTrace(LogLevel level, String msg) :: Parent being changed on PreviewPanel
at SharpCap.UI.ScrollZoomForm.OnParentChanged(Object sender, EventArgs eventArgs)
at System.EventHandler.Invoke(Object sender, EventArgs e)
Debug: 08:26:23.4553500 Thread:#1 SharpCap.UI.SharpCapForm..ctor() :: Ended
Info: 08:26:23.6087267 Thread:LogInfo Thread#8 SharpCap.LogSystemInfo.ThreadProc() :: CPU : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-7200U CPU @ 2.50GHz with 4 cores.
Debug: 08:26:23.6590820 Thread:#1 SharpCap.UI.SharpCapForm.SharpCapForm_Load(Object sender, EventArgs e) :: Started
Debug: 08:26:23.6620876 Thread:#1 SharpCap.UI.SharpCapForm.SharpCapForm_Load(Object sender, EventArgs e) :: Ended
Debug: 08:26:23.6912134 Thread:#1 SharpCap.UI.SharpCapForm.SharpCap_Shown(Object sender, EventArgs e) :: Started
Debug: 08:26:23.7137894 Thread:#1 SharpCap.UI.SharpCapForm.SharpCap_Shown(Object sender, EventArgs e) :: Timebomb checked
Debug: 08:26:23.7208082 Thread:#1 SharpCap.Cameras.Basler.BaslerDeviceEnumerator.GetDevices() :: Started
Info: 08:26:23.7298320 Thread:#9 SharpCap.Base.SimpleDeviceEnumerator.GetDevices(Func`1 deviceNameFinder, String infoText, Func`2 fullNameToDispayName, Func`3 tagCreatorFunc) :: FindCameras - found 0 cameras
Info: 08:26:23.7970308 Thread:#11 SharpCap.MultiCaptureProvider+<GetDevicesFromEnumerator>d__20.MoveNext() :: Detected Camera: ASI Camera (1) (ASCOM Cameras)
Info: 08:26:23.7970308 Thread:#11 SharpCap.MultiCaptureProvider+<GetDevicesFromEnumerator>d__20.MoveNext() :: Detected Camera: ASI Camera (2) (ASCOM Cameras)
Info: 08:26:23.7970308 Thread:#11 SharpCap.MultiCaptureProvider+<GetDevicesFromEnumerator>d__20.MoveNext() :: Detected Camera: Camera V2 simulator (ASCOM Cameras)
Debug: 08:26:23.7970308 Thread:#11 SharpCap.Cameras.Fake.FakeDeviceEnumerator.GetDevices() :: Started
Debug: 08:26:23.7970308 Thread:#11 SharpCap.Cameras.Fake.FakeDeviceEnumerator.GetDevices() :: Ended
Info: 08:26:23.7980322 Thread:#11 SharpCap.MultiCaptureProvider+<GetDevicesFromEnumerator>d__20.MoveNext() :: Detected Camera: Test Camera 1 (Deep Sky) (Test Cameras)
Info: 08:26:23.7980322 Thread:#11 SharpCap.MultiCaptureProvider+<GetDevicesFromEnumerator>d__20.MoveNext() :: Detected Camera: Test Camera 2 (High Speed) (Test Cameras)
Debug: 08:26:23.8090621 Thread:#1 SharpCap.Cameras.Basler.BaslerDeviceEnumerator.GetDevices() :: Ended
Info: 08:26:23.8160794 Thread:#9 SharpCap.MultiCaptureProvider+<GetDevicesFromEnumerator>d__20.MoveNext() :: Detected Camera: HD WebCam (DirectShow Cameras)
Info: 08:26:23.9732063 Thread:#11 SharpCap.Base.SimpleDeviceEnumerator.GetDevices(Func`1 deviceNameFinder, String infoText, Func`2 fullNameToDispayName, Func`3 tagCreatorFunc) :: QHYCameraFinder - found 0 cameras
Debug: 08:26:24.2776974 Thread:#1 SharpCap.UI.SharpCapForm.SharpCap_Shown(Object sender, EventArgs e) :: Docking setup
Debug: 08:26:24.2782022 Thread:#1 SharpCap.UI.SharpCapForm.SharpCap_Shown(Object sender, EventArgs e) :: Startup scripts (if any) run
Debug: 08:26:24.2792039 Thread:#1 SharpCap.UI.SharpCapForm.SharpCap_Shown(Object sender, EventArgs e) :: Menu updated
Debug: 08:26:24.3177074 Thread:#1 SharpCap.UI.SharpCapForm.SharpCap_Shown(Object sender, EventArgs e) :: Splash and tips done
Debug: 08:26:24.3467871 Thread:#1 SharpCap.UI.SharpCapForm.SharpCap_Shown(Object sender, EventArgs e) :: Ended

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2142
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Can't auto update

Post by admin » Tue Apr 24, 2018 4:52 pm

Sadly nothing in that log that would help diagnose the problem, but I will put some extra logging around possible problems with the update procedure in a future version.

cheers,

Robin

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2142
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Can't auto update

Post by admin » Tue Apr 24, 2018 4:57 pm

Sorry, just realized that there is logging around the auto-update, but it ends up in a different log file to the usual one. Have a look in the %TEMP% directory for files called something like 'NetSparkle 18-04-16--09-27-15.log'. I'd suggest deleting all the existing ones, then re-trying the update, then looking for the (hopefully) one file that's just been created.

thanks,

Robin

Oshimitsu
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 6:56 am

Re: Can't auto update

Post by Oshimitsu » Wed Apr 25, 2018 11:07 am

It really doesn't say much in the log file lol. I honestly have no idea when it started becoming a problem or what could have caused it to happen. Logic would dictate that deleting any sharpcap file on the hard drive would fix it but it didn't : (

[6:59:41 AM.215] Using the following url: https://links.sharpcap.co.uk/updates/3.1.xml
[6:59:41 AM.215] Starting background worker
[6:59:41 AM.230] Starting update loop...
[6:59:41 AM.230] Reading config...
[6:59:41 AM.230] Downloading and checking appcast
[6:59:42 AM.903] Lastest version on the server is 3.1.5143
[6:59:42 AM.903] Touch the last check timestamp
[6:59:42 AM.903] Update needed from version 3.1.5142.0 to version 3.1.5143
[6:59:42 AM.903] Standard UI update whished from consumer
[6:59:48 AM.572] Sleeping for an other 1440 minutes, exit event or force update check event
[7:00:40 AM.169] Finished downloading file to: C:\Users\Jons Laptop\AppData\Local\Temp\8c512d16-2e12-4a5f-bcb7-b9ada6f13e33\SharpCapInstall-3.1.5143.0.exe
[7:00:40 AM.169] No DSA check needed
[7:00:44 AM.738] Generating MSI batch in C:\Users\Jons Laptop\AppData\Local\Temp\fee7df2a-7842-4587-9c52-f6cdb09c34f3.cmd
[7:00:44 AM.738] Going to execute batch: C:\Users\JONSLA~1\AppData\Local\Temp\fee7df2a-7842-4587-9c52-f6cdb09c34f3.cmd

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2142
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Can't auto update

Post by admin » Wed Apr 25, 2018 4:13 pm

Not much helpful there either sadly - it looks like the download was successful and SharpCap tried to kick off the upgrade without an error and then it exited. I wonder if antivirus is blocking the launch of the upgrade? What AV are you using?

Anyway, you should find that a manual download and install will work around the problem.

cheers,

Robin

Oshimitsu
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 6:56 am

Re: Can't auto update

Post by Oshimitsu » Thu Apr 26, 2018 11:00 am

I just used windows defender since I only use this laptop for mount control and image acquisition. Ive been manually upgrading for a while now lol. Was just hopeful you could figure out the problem : )

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest