Using dark frames causes crashes

A place to report problems and bugs in SharpCap
Forum rules
Please read about Troubleshooting USB Issues before posting.

*** Please do not post license keys - please report any problems with licensing to 'admin' by PM ***

Please include the following details in any bug report:

* Version of SharpCap
* Camera and other hardware being user
* Operating system version
* Contents of the SharpCap log after the problem has occurred.
[If SharpCap crashes, please send the bug report when prompted instead of including the log]
Post Reply
thonyoust
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2018 7:41 pm

Using dark frames causes crashes

Post by thonyoust » Mon Mar 26, 2018 7:53 pm

Fairly new to SharpCap.
When I use dark frames in SharpCap (Any amount of darks. 3 to 30) I can get no more than 8 or 10 captures in "Live Stack" before constantly getting this memory error message and having to shut down SharpCap.
Error message attached.
IMG_0358.JPG
IMG_0358.JPG (743.7 KiB) Viewed 138 times
Version 3.0.4076.0 - 1-14-2018
Lenovo Ideapad 8-gig memory
ZWO 1600MC or ZWO 071
If I do-not use dark frames it will capture frames indefinitely. Is there a setting I need to change in SharpCap?

I have tried both:
SharpCap Image Pipeline
and
DirectShow Image Pipeline - Both with the same results.

T-Honyoust

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2142
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: Using dark frames causes crashes

Post by admin » Mon Mar 26, 2018 8:36 pm

Hi,

please try updating to SharpCap 3.1 which has improved memory handling for live stacking (and can use more memory in total too). Hopefully that should fix things for you, if not another thing to try as a quick workaround is to use 2x2 binning.

thanks,

Robin

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests