A few issues in latest version

A place to report problems and bugs in SharpCap
Forum rules
Please read about Troubleshooting USB Issues before posting.

*** Please do not post license keys - please report any problems with licensing to 'admin' by PM ***

Please include the following details in any bug report:

* Version of SharpCap
* Camera and other hardware being user
* Operating system version
* Contents of the SharpCap log after the problem has occurred.
[If SharpCap crashes, please send the bug report when prompted instead of including the log]
Astrogate
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 6:52 pm

A few issues in latest version

Post by Astrogate » Sat Mar 17, 2018 4:16 pm

Hi Robin

Last night I was finally able to test the latest version of Sharpcap and my new ZWO ASI183 Pro mono camera. Everything ran very well except for a few issues.

1. The is no sensor analysis data for the ZWO ASI183 mono camera in the library even though there is one for the Altair Hyper 183 mono. If ZWO has not made one as of yet then I guess I will have to try a make my own?

**2. When running the live stacking mode for DSO's every-time there is a refresh or sub-frame added (I was using sigma clipped), the background gets grainy or noisy until one tweaks either the live histogram or the display histogram and then it is smooth again until the next sub-frame is added.

3. Occasionally the live histogram stops working in real-time and will show the changes made upon the next stack. When I close Sharpcap and re-open it, the live histogram works again in real-time.

Don was also using the latest Sharpcap with his ZWO ASI294MC camera and was having the same issues

Thank you!

Chris A

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1668
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: A few issues in latest version

Post by admin » Sat Mar 17, 2018 10:41 pm

Hi Chris,

for the sensor measurements, I don't have one yet for the ZWO 183 mono - if you do one then you can send it to me and I will include it in future versions (ideally both 16 and 8 bit).

Do you have a video showing 2? I wonder if somehow you had change the 'View' option from 'Stack' to 'Raw Frames'? I found an issue where with raw frames shown the image quality changes when the histogram is adjusted and then goes back when the next frame arrives matching what you describe. Can't find anything similar with view stack selected though. Anyway, fixed the raw frame issue for the next version in case that was the cause.

For 3, I take it you mean that adjusting the histogram stretch stops responding? This can happen if the time taken to calculate the stacking of each new frame is only a little shorter than the exposure time - basically the histogram adjustments cannot be applied until the stacking calculations are over. If the stacking calculations take 1s out of an 8s exposure then the histogram can be adjusted most of the time. If the stacking takes 7.5s out of an 8s exposure then the histogram will only really update with the next frame.

cheers,

Robin

Astrogate
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 6:52 pm

Re: A few issues in latest version

Post by Astrogate » Sun Mar 18, 2018 6:53 am

Hi Robin

I was able to do a sensor analysis for the ASI 183 mono at only raw16 since I did this test prior to reading your message sorry. I thought that one should do the test using the highest bit depth? I cannot find the sensor analysis data from my tests even though I do now see the brain feature in the histogram but it is not in the sensor library?

The live stacking was acting the same again tonight with the background getting noisy/grainy looking upon every refresh and smooth ens out when adjusting the histogram until the next refresh and so on. I was using live stack and viewing the stack not raw or individual frames.

Here is my sensor analysis data test that I copied and pasted to notepad.


Gain Value e/ADU Read Noise (e) Full Well (e) Relative Gain Rel. Gain (db) Dynamic Range (Stops)
0 3.71654081802882 2.92384056066791 15222.9511906461 1 0 12
50 2.10289476413279 2.41276553168785 8613.45695388789 1.7673451289235 4.94642734498499 11.801688930807
60 1.87638911153349 2.32063150369843 7685.68980084119 1.98068769168643 5.93632005625485 11.6934415808618
61 1.8536167096389 2.3157462329152 7592.41404268094 2.00502120999591 6.04237942276953 11.6788657879891
100 1.18679986009002 2.09756275362477 4861.13222692872 3.13156492767611 9.91522840977186 11.1783626888578
150 0.671714237734584 1.85563212766604 2751.34151776086 5.53291952030552 14.8590870636309 10.5340087841269
200 0.379156329567298 1.68901063435571 1553.02432590765 9.80213312611774 19.826411930367 9.84468630065093
250 0.215786146736498 1.56424867720331 883.860057032695 17.2232595754499 24.7223069396432 9.14220426924249
300 0.121937087428944 1.59113718857121 499.454310108954 30.4791667276337 29.6800617923687 8.29415066577942
350 0.0691277208599531 1.63934492722809 283.147144642368 53.7633929166885 34.6097333699997 7.43228873363596
400 0.0401281779809238 1.72131462653026 164.365017009864 92.6167347990631 39.3337893177082 6.57724864112051
450 0.0239414256869238 1.69262890703446 98.0640796136398 155.23473274437 43.8197779662264 5.85638716546479

Cheers,

Chris A

User avatar
turfpit
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: A few issues in latest version

Post by turfpit » Sun Mar 18, 2018 8:02 am

Chris

Have a look at viewtopic.php?f=19&t=532&p=2441&hilit=s ... tion#p2441 for location of sensor analysis data.

Dave

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1668
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: A few issues in latest version

Post by admin » Sun Mar 18, 2018 9:07 am

Hi Chris,

for the live stack issue, can you save a raw frame next time you see the problem and share that (and the camera settings file) with me.

for the sensor analysis - follow Dave's link and grab the .json file that the sensor analysis created and share it here - that has all the data I need in it.

cheers,

Robin

MrAstroBen
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 12:19 pm

Re: A few issues in latest version

Post by MrAstroBen » Sun Mar 18, 2018 12:22 pm

Robin, i have a few questions.
I have two altair cameras. Using my 183C to test 3.1 today. Sent a pro activation but the pop up is saying not correct but i have copied and pasted all lines?
I originally set up my pro 3 version via my 290M camera?

Tiff files are showing in mono only via a couple of different applications? I cant see a mono or colour tab in the sharpcap settings?

Png files open in the windows 10 image editor as mono also?

My usual capture laptop is windows7 but trying with my pc right now.

Thanks Rob

MrAstroBen
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 12:19 pm

Re: A few issues in latest version

Post by MrAstroBen » Sun Mar 18, 2018 12:35 pm

Apologies on the mono, id set to raw not rgb24
The raw12 and tiff show mono.

Neither format is recognised by DXO as a raw file for advanced editing though.

Let me know on the pro activation issue if you could. Thanks Rob

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1668
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: A few issues in latest version

Post by admin » Sun Mar 18, 2018 1:43 pm

Hi,

the mono files just need to be debayered to get colour - DXO obviously does this automatically for some file formats, maybe it is possible to do it manually for TIFF (or maybe there are some flags I can set in the TIFF to make it work like AltairCapture does?). As a workaround, you can debayer your files in PIPP - always a good fallback. See viewtopic.php?t=254

Please retry the Altair license claim and send me a screenshot of the message. The most likely cause for what you describe is that the free license for that particular camera has already been claimed, but there are some other possibilities.

cheers,

Robin

donboy
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2017 1:57 am

Re: A few issues in latest version

Post by donboy » Sun Mar 18, 2018 5:29 pm

3. Occasionally the live histogram stops working in real-time and will show the changes made upon the next stack. When I close Sharpcap and re-open it, the live histogram works again in real-time.

Don was also using the latest Sharpcap with his ZWO ASI294MC camera and was having the same issues
Robin, I didn't have this issue in v.3.1.5085. When I made changes in the live histogram it reacted right away. With v.3.1.5092 it will only change after exposure is completed. But unlike Chris my 3.1.5092 doesn't work in real time if I restart SC it plain doesn't refresh in real time.

Don

Astrogate
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 6:52 pm

Re: A few issues in latest version

Post by Astrogate » Sun Mar 18, 2018 5:40 pm

Hi Robin

Thank you and I found the .json file for the ASI183 mono camera using raw16. Should I also do a raw8 senor analysis or is this fine? Yes I can send a raw frame and camera settings file the next time it acts up when live stacking. What is the best way to do this just select "save individual frame" before, during and after (adjusting the histogram) it happens or only after it happens? What is the best way to send the .json file to you by email?

Chris

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests