'backend.exe' still running after plate solving failure

A place to report problems and bugs in SharpCap
Forum rules
Please read about Troubleshooting USB Issues before posting.

*** Please do not post license keys - please report any problems with licensing to 'admin' by PM ***

Please include the following details in any bug report:

* Version of SharpCap
* Camera and other hardware being user
* Operating system version
* Contents of the SharpCap log after the problem has occurred.
[If SharpCap crashes, please send the bug report when prompted instead of including the log]
Post Reply
roelb
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 11:36 pm

'backend.exe' still running after plate solving failure

Post by roelb » Tue Feb 13, 2018 10:34 pm

SharpCap V.3.1.5027
Windows 10 Home (desktop, laptop, mini PC)
When plate solving fails the proces "backend.exe" still keeps running at relative high CPU consumption.
It seems that this behavior also occurs when using the "All Sky Plate Solver" program.
This is rather annoying when using a mini PC (with lower power source) at the mount.
Roel
Celestron Nexstar Evolution 8 - Celestron Nexstar 6 SE - OTA 5 SE - StarSense
Starlight Xpress Lodestar X2 Mono -- ATIK Infinity Colour -- ZWO ASI290MM -- ZWO ASI224MC

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1668
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: 'backend.exe' still running after plate solving failure

Post by admin » Wed Feb 14, 2018 4:15 pm

Hi,

I just did a quick test of ASPS and found that the backend.exe was going away even after a failed attempt to solve (I gave it the wrong focal length). If it is happening in the ASPS application too then maybe there will be something in the log for that application or maybe the developer of that application has some ideas. It might be worth switching to an alternative plate solver like AstroTortilla (also free, same plate solving engine) to see if that helps.

cheers,

Robin

roelb
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 11:36 pm

Re: 'backend.exe' still running after plate solving failure

Post by roelb » Mon Feb 19, 2018 9:49 pm

Does changing to another plate solver app, like Astrotortilla instead of eg All Sky Plate Solver, has an influence on the behavior of the plate solving proces within SharpCap? I think no.
Roel
Celestron Nexstar Evolution 8 - Celestron Nexstar 6 SE - OTA 5 SE - StarSense
Starlight Xpress Lodestar X2 Mono -- ATIK Infinity Colour -- ZWO ASI290MM -- ZWO ASI224MC

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest