Page 2 of 3

Re: How to report a Crash

Posted: Sat Jun 29, 2019 4:14 pm
by Luc Lapointe
Hello Robin, thank's for the feedback.
On the same night I did reinstall the 64 bits version. And the same thing happened...
I checked for the dll's mention in the report, they were in the directory.
I will uninstall the 64 bits verision, and try the 32 bits version instead.

Regards

Re: How to report a Crash

Posted: Sat Jun 29, 2019 7:33 pm
by BlackWikkett
If dll's are in the correct folder and you're still getting errors you may need to register the dll. Have a look at this link for how register dll's.
https://helpdeskgeek.com/how-to/registe ... n-windows/

Re: How to report a Crash

Posted: Sat Jun 29, 2019 9:54 pm
by admin
Hi,

The sort of DLLs that SharpCap uses don't need registering, so trying to register them would probably give you an error message. Anyway, no need to register the DLLs in the SharpCap folder

Cheers, Robin

Re: How to report a Crash

Posted: Thu Oct 10, 2019 3:05 am
by rederikus
I just had Sharpcap 3.2 crash on me several times. It is the first time I have used it with myFocuserPro2 which I have just built.

myFocuserPro2 is Arduino Nano based and can connect either via the Nano's USB port or via Bluetooth (HC-05).

I am not using a camera, just the Deep Sky demo camera within Sharpcap.

If I connect via the USB cable, all is well. However using Bluetooth, often causes a lack of connection and/or a Sharpcap crash. I believe that this may be caused by the extra time that Bluetooth takes to respond and connect.

Here are all the logs from my sessions today
logs.zip
(78.72 KiB) Downloaded 24 times
. Perhaps you can tell me if my supposition about timing is correct and if so, what may be done about it.

I look forward to your reply.

Thanks
Pete

Re: How to report a Crash

Posted: Thu Oct 10, 2019 5:28 pm
by admin
Hi,

There are certainly some errors in those log files that referred to timing out waiting for a response from the hardware. What you have to remember though is that from the Ascom driver's point of view there is no way that it can tell the difference between a timeout in the sense that the data just takes too long to arrive and a timeout in the sense that the data isn't coming at all perhaps because the message sent to the hardware has been lost or the message received back from the hardware has been lost. Essentially what I'm saying is that you would see exactly the same symptoms if the Bluetooth communication was flaky and in fact I think that's probably the most likely cause here.

I did find one log file that had a crash caused by a different error which was a mistaken assumption in the SharpCap code and I will fix that in a future update. The majority of the problems caused by the Bluetooth communication failure/timeout which I'm afraid I can't do anything about.

Hope this helps, Robin

Re: How to report a Crash

Posted: Thu Oct 10, 2019 6:19 pm
by rederikus
Hi Robin, Thanks for your reply. Serial timeout delays have been the bugbear of communications since serial comms were invented. I agree with everything you said. Perhaps the only possible thing you could do would be to increase Sharpcap's timeout for serial delays.

I have done some careful testing and can now make Sharpcap connect via BT nearly every time. I think it will be good enough.

A message within Sharpcap saying "Connected" would be a huge help. Right now you need to run the Focus Assist and watch for the In/Out icons to appear. Something more visual would be welcome. A red or green dot somewhere around the screen maybe. Dunno.

Thanks again for your help.
Pete

Re: How to report a Crash

Posted: Sat Oct 12, 2019 8:56 am
by admin
Hi Pete,

The timeout for the serial port connection and communication is coming from the Ascom driver code rather than from SharpCap, so that's where you'd have to look in order to increase the timeout.

Isn't the 'connected' checkbox inside the focuser control block on the right-hand side already indicating whether you are connected or not? I believe that that tick mark shouldn't appear until the connection is complete and successful.

Cheers, Robin

Re: How to report a Crash

Posted: Thu Jan 23, 2020 8:53 pm
by jYecker
SharpCap fails to install
Windows 7 Pro 64
8 Gigs of ram
AMD processor
SharpCap 3.2.6194.0
Also tried 3.1.5220.0
Log[*]
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:16]i001: Burn v3.11.1.2318, Windows v6.1 (Build 7601: Service Pack 1), path: C:\Windows\Temp\{8798A6F8-0625-443D-B2E7-4849F805B116}\.cr\SharpCapInstall-3.2.6194.0 (1).exe
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:16]i000: Initializing string variable 'InstallFolder' to value '[ProgramFilesFolder]SharpCap 3.2'
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:16]i000: Initializing string variable 'LaunchTarget' to value '[InstallFolder]\SharpCap.exe'
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:16]i000: Initializing numeric variable 'LAUNCHSHARPCAP' to value '0'
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:16]i009: Command Line: '"-burn.clean.room=E:\Telescope control\ZWO\SharpCapInstall-3.2.6194.0 (1).exe" -burn.filehandle.attached=192 -aburn.filehandle.self=200'
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:16]i000: Setting string variable 'WixBundleOriginalSource' to value 'E:\Telescope control\ZWO\SharpCapInstall-3.2.6194.0 (1).exe'
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:16]i000: Setting string variable 'WixBundleOriginalSourceFolder' to value 'E:\Telescope control\ZWO\'
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:16]i000: Setting string variable 'WixBundleLog' to value 'C:\Users\John\AppData\Local\Temp\SharpCap_3.2_20200123143316.log'
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:16]i000: Setting string variable 'WixBundleName' to value 'SharpCap 3.2'
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:16]i000: Setting string variable 'WixBundleManufacturer' to value 'AstroSharp Limited'
[0CB8:0C20][2020-01-23T14:33:16]i000: Setting numeric variable 'WixStdBALanguageId' to value 1033
[0CB8:0C20][2020-01-23T14:33:16]i000: Setting version variable 'WixBundleFileVersion' to value '3.2.6194.0'
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:16]i100: Detect begin, 2 packages
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:16]i000: Registry value not found. Key = 'SOFTWARE\Microsoft\NET Framework Setup\NDP\v4\Full', Value = 'Release'
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:16]i052: Condition 'NETFRAMEWORK45 >= 394802' evaluates to false.
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:16]i101: Detected package: NetFx462Web, state: Absent, cached: None
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:16]i101: Detected package: SharpCapInstall.msi, state: Absent, cached: None
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:16]i052: Condition '((VersionNT = v6.0) AND (ServicePackLevel >= 2)) OR ((VersionNT = v6.1) AND (ServicePackLevel >= 1)) OR (VersionNT >= v6.2)' evaluates to true.
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:16]i199: Detect complete, result: 0x0
[0CB8:0C20][2020-01-23T14:33:20]i000: Setting numeric variable 'EulaAcceptCheckbox' to value 1
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:20]i200: Plan begin, 2 packages, action: Install
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:20]w321: Skipping dependency registration on package with no dependency providers: NetFx462Web
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:20]i000: Setting string variable 'NetFx462FullLog' to value 'C:\Users\John\AppData\Local\Temp\SharpCap_3.2_20200123143316_000_NetFx462Web.log'
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:20]i000: Setting string variable 'WixBundleRollbackLog_SharpCapInstall.msi' to value 'C:\Users\John\AppData\Local\Temp\SharpCap_3.2_20200123143316_001_SharpCapInstall.msi_rollback.log'
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:20]i000: Setting string variable 'WixBundleLog_SharpCapInstall.msi' to value 'C:\Users\John\AppData\Local\Temp\SharpCap_3.2_20200123143316_001_SharpCapInstall.msi.log'
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:20]i201: Planned package: NetFx462Web, state: Absent, default requested: Present, ba requested: Present, execute: Install, rollback: None, cache: Yes, uncache: No, dependency: None
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:20]i201: Planned package: SharpCapInstall.msi, state: Absent, default requested: Present, ba requested: Present, execute: Install, rollback: Uninstall, cache: Yes, uncache: No, dependency: Register
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:20]i299: Plan complete, result: 0x0
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:20]i300: Apply begin
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:20]i010: Launching elevated engine process.
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:21]i011: Launched elevated engine process.
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:21]i012: Connected to elevated engine.
[0F30:09D4][2020-01-23T14:33:21]i358: Pausing automatic updates.
[0F30:09D4][2020-01-23T14:33:21]w308: Automatic updates could not be paused due to error: 0x8024a000. Continuing...
[0F30:09D4][2020-01-23T14:33:21]i360: Creating a system restore point.
[0F30:09D4][2020-01-23T14:33:27]i361: Created a system restore point.
[0F30:09D4][2020-01-23T14:33:27]i370: Session begin, registration key: SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\{34809eba-3b2a-4bad-a1c0-4ed45194fdd2}, options: 0x7, disable resume: No
[0F30:09D4][2020-01-23T14:33:27]i000: Caching bundle from: 'C:\Windows\Temp\{77E65A1F-0036-49A6-A3B0-967F02483AF0}\.be\SharpCapInstall.exe' to: 'C:\ProgramData\Package Cache\{34809eba-3b2a-4bad-a1c0-4ed45194fdd2}\SharpCapInstall.exe'
[0F30:09D4][2020-01-23T14:33:27]i320: Registering bundle dependency provider: {34809eba-3b2a-4bad-a1c0-4ed45194fdd2}, version: 3.2.6194.0
[0F30:09D4][2020-01-23T14:33:27]i371: Updating session, registration key: SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\{34809eba-3b2a-4bad-a1c0-4ed45194fdd2}, resume: Active, restart initiated: No, disable resume: No
[0CB8:0F10][2020-01-23T14:33:27]w343: Prompt for source of package: NetFx462Web, payload: NetFx462Web, path: E:\Telescope control\ZWO\redist\NDP462-KB3151802-Web.exe
[0CB8:0F10][2020-01-23T14:33:27]i338: Acquiring package: NetFx462Web, payload: NetFx462Web, download from: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=780596
[0CB8:0F10][2020-01-23T14:33:27]e000: Error 0x80072ee7: Failed to send request to URL: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=780596, trying to process HTTP status code anyway.
[0CB8:0F10][2020-01-23T14:33:27]e000: Error 0x80072ee7: Unknown HTTP status code 0, returned from URL: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=780596
[0CB8:0F10][2020-01-23T14:33:27]e000: Error 0x80072ee7: Failed attempt to download URL: 'http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=780596' to: 'C:\Windows\Temp\{77E65A1F-0036-49A6-A3B0-967F02483AF0}\NetFx462Web'
[0CB8:0F10][2020-01-23T14:33:27]e000: Error 0x80072ee7: Failed to acquire payload from: 'http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=780596' to working path: 'C:\Windows\Temp\{77E65A1F-0036-49A6-A3B0-967F02483AF0}\NetFx462Web'
[0CB8:0F10][2020-01-23T14:33:27]e313: Failed to acquire payload: NetFx462Web to working path: C:\Windows\Temp\{77E65A1F-0036-49A6-A3B0-967F02483AF0}\NetFx462Web, error: 0x80072ee7.
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:27]e000: Error 0x80072ee7: Failed while caching, aborting execution.
[0F30:09D4][2020-01-23T14:33:27]i372: Session end, registration key: SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\{34809eba-3b2a-4bad-a1c0-4ed45194fdd2}, resume: None, restart: None, disable resume: No
[0F30:09D4][2020-01-23T14:33:27]i330: Removed bundle dependency provider: {34809eba-3b2a-4bad-a1c0-4ed45194fdd2}
[0F30:09D4][2020-01-23T14:33:27]i352: Removing cached bundle: {34809eba-3b2a-4bad-a1c0-4ed45194fdd2}, from path: C:\ProgramData\Package Cache\{34809eba-3b2a-4bad-a1c0-4ed45194fdd2}\
[0F30:09D4][2020-01-23T14:33:27]i371: Updating session, registration key: SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\{34809eba-3b2a-4bad-a1c0-4ed45194fdd2}, resume: None, restart initiated: No, disable resume: No
[0CB8:09A4][2020-01-23T14:33:27]i399: Apply complete, result: 0x80072ee7, restart: None, ba requested restart: No

Re: How to report a Crash

Posted: Sat Jan 25, 2020 8:09 pm
by admin
Hi,

It looks like your computer is missing a required component and can't access the Internet in order to download it during the installation.

The easiest thing to do to fix this would be to search for the installer for "Microsoft .NET Framework 4.6.2" and download and run it on your computer while it is connected to the Internet, then retry installing SharpCap.

Hope this helps, Robin

Re: How to report a Crash

Posted: Thu Feb 13, 2020 6:00 pm
by edgar619
Hello Robin

I have been a SC Pro user for sometime...in the last 30 days ..with increasing frequency it is taking 3.2 between 1-2 minutes to load ...sometimes over 2 minutes ...and become functional. I get the warning screen with three options and just decide to choose wait ..eventually SC opens

And now to add to the problems SC is crashing mid session on two recent occasions rarely has that EVER happened..I have submitted a report

Windows 10 user

hope there is an answer

Edgar