How to report a Crash

A place to report problems and bugs in SharpCap
Forum rules
Please read about Troubleshooting USB Issues before posting.

*** Please do not post license keys - please report any problems with licensing to 'admin' by PM ***

Please include the following details in any bug report:

* Version of SharpCap
* Camera and other hardware being user
* Operating system version
* Contents of the SharpCap log after the problem has occurred.
[If SharpCap crashes, please send the bug report when prompted instead of including the log]
Luc Lapointe
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2019 6:49 pm

Re: How to report a Crash

Post by Luc Lapointe » Sat Jun 29, 2019 4:14 pm

Hello Robin, thank's for the feedback.
On the same night I did reinstall the 64 bits version. And the same thing happened...
I checked for the dll's mention in the report, they were in the directory.
I will uninstall the 64 bits verision, and try the 32 bits version instead.

Regards

BlackWikkett
Posts: 230
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 8:48 pm
Contact:

Re: How to report a Crash

Post by BlackWikkett » Sat Jun 29, 2019 7:33 pm

If dll's are in the correct folder and you're still getting errors you may need to register the dll. Have a look at this link for how register dll's.
https://helpdeskgeek.com/how-to/registe ... n-windows/

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3254
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: How to report a Crash

Post by admin » Sat Jun 29, 2019 9:54 pm

Hi,

The sort of DLLs that SharpCap uses don't need registering, so trying to register them would probably give you an error message. Anyway, no need to register the DLLs in the SharpCap folder

Cheers, Robin

rederikus
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 2:51 am

Re: How to report a Crash

Post by rederikus » Thu Oct 10, 2019 3:05 am

I just had Sharpcap 3.2 crash on me several times. It is the first time I have used it with myFocuserPro2 which I have just built.

myFocuserPro2 is Arduino Nano based and can connect either via the Nano's USB port or via Bluetooth (HC-05).

I am not using a camera, just the Deep Sky demo camera within Sharpcap.

If I connect via the USB cable, all is well. However using Bluetooth, often causes a lack of connection and/or a Sharpcap crash. I believe that this may be caused by the extra time that Bluetooth takes to respond and connect.

Here are all the logs from my sessions today
logs.zip
(78.72 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
. Perhaps you can tell me if my supposition about timing is correct and if so, what may be done about it.

I look forward to your reply.

Thanks
Pete

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3254
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: How to report a Crash

Post by admin » Thu Oct 10, 2019 5:28 pm

Hi,

There are certainly some errors in those log files that referred to timing out waiting for a response from the hardware. What you have to remember though is that from the Ascom driver's point of view there is no way that it can tell the difference between a timeout in the sense that the data just takes too long to arrive and a timeout in the sense that the data isn't coming at all perhaps because the message sent to the hardware has been lost or the message received back from the hardware has been lost. Essentially what I'm saying is that you would see exactly the same symptoms if the Bluetooth communication was flaky and in fact I think that's probably the most likely cause here.

I did find one log file that had a crash caused by a different error which was a mistaken assumption in the SharpCap code and I will fix that in a future update. The majority of the problems caused by the Bluetooth communication failure/timeout which I'm afraid I can't do anything about.

Hope this helps, Robin

rederikus
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 2:51 am

Re: How to report a Crash

Post by rederikus » Thu Oct 10, 2019 6:19 pm

Hi Robin, Thanks for your reply. Serial timeout delays have been the bugbear of communications since serial comms were invented. I agree with everything you said. Perhaps the only possible thing you could do would be to increase Sharpcap's timeout for serial delays.

I have done some careful testing and can now make Sharpcap connect via BT nearly every time. I think it will be good enough.

A message within Sharpcap saying "Connected" would be a huge help. Right now you need to run the Focus Assist and watch for the In/Out icons to appear. Something more visual would be welcome. A red or green dot somewhere around the screen maybe. Dunno.

Thanks again for your help.
Pete

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3254
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: How to report a Crash

Post by admin » Sat Oct 12, 2019 8:56 am

Hi Pete,

The timeout for the serial port connection and communication is coming from the Ascom driver code rather than from SharpCap, so that's where you'd have to look in order to increase the timeout.

Isn't the 'connected' checkbox inside the focuser control block on the right-hand side already indicating whether you are connected or not? I believe that that tick mark shouldn't appear until the connection is complete and successful.

Cheers, Robin

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest