SharpCap to ASTAP interaction crash if Windows username has a space

A place to report problems and bugs in SharpCap
Forum rules


If you have a problem or question, please check the FAQ to see if it already has an answer : https://www.sharpcap.co.uk/sharpcap-faqs

Please also read about Troubleshooting USB Issues before posting.

*** Please do not post license keys - please report any problems with licensing to 'admin' by private message ***

Please include the following details in any bug report:

* Version of SharpCap
* Camera and other hardware being user
* Operating system version
* Contents of the SharpCap log after the problem has occurred.
[If SharpCap crashes, please send the bug report when prompted instead of including the log]
Post Reply
deonb
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2020 12:48 am

SharpCap to ASTAP interaction crash if Windows username has a space

#1

Post by deonb »

If your Windows username has a space inside it, with the default TMP file location, the SharpCap launch of ASTAP will cause ASTAP to pop up an error message like this, and not actually perform the plate-solve:
--astap--
Access denied.

Press OK to ignore and risk data corruption.
Press Abort to kill the program.
This is because SharpCap tries to launch ASTAP with this command line:

Code: Select all

"c:\Program Files\Astap\Astap.exe" -f C:\Users\Richard Feynman\AppData\Local\Temp\e75042d2-a321-3349-9e6d-a69075794258\frame.png -ra 9.000 -spd 90.000 -r 180.000 -z 0
This makes ASTAP think the filename requested is: "C:\Users\Richard". It should surround that filename with instead. e.g.

Code: Select all

"c:\Program Files\Astap\Astap.exe" -f "C:\Users\Richard Feynman\AppData\Local\Temp\e75042d2-a321-3349-9e6d-a69075794258\frame.png" -ra 9.000 -spd 90.000 -r 180.000 -z 0
To reproduce this:
a) Log in with a non-cloud user with a space in the name. e.g.: Firstname Lastname
b) Install ASAP & the Astap database.
c) In SharpCap Under File\Configuration set preferred plate solver to ASTAP
d) In SharpCap under Cameras, select "Test Camera 1 (Deep Sky)"
e) In SharpCap click on "Tools\Plate Solve"

OBSERVE: Astap error dialog above.

WORKAROUND: Move your system TEMP/TMP environment variables somewhere else, but that's a hard workaround to explain to some users.
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13173
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: SharpCap to ASTAP interaction crash if Windows username has a space

#2

Post by admin »

Hi,

thanks for the excellent bug report – I will fix this one and get it released as soon as possible. I'm also mightily pleased that one of my heroes – Richard Feynman – is using SharpCap… even if from beyond the grave :)

Cheers, Robin
jccarracedom
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2021 6:52 pm

Re: SharpCap to ASTAP interaction crash if Windows username has a space

#3

Post by jccarracedom »

Hi,
Any update on this bug? Is there any workaround?
Thank you.
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13173
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:52 pm
Location: Vale of the White Horse, UK
Contact:

Re: SharpCap to ASTAP interaction crash if Windows username has a space

#4

Post by admin »

Hi,

fixed in SharpCap 4.0 - https://www.sharpcap.co.uk/sharpcap/sha ... s/4-0-beta

cheers,

Robin
jccarracedom
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2021 6:52 pm

Re: SharpCap to ASTAP interaction crash if Windows username has a space

#5

Post by jccarracedom »

Thank you so much.
Post Reply